Hess, Victor Franz

January 2009
World Book Science Dataset;1/1/2009, p1
Reference Entry
Hess, Victor Franz (1883-1964), an Austrian-born American physicist, won the 1936 Nobel Prize in physics for his 1912 discovery of cosmic rays. Hess shared the prize with the American physicist Carl David Anderson, who won for his 1932 discovery of the positron, an elementary particle in cosmic rays that is also known as a positive electron.


Related Articles

  • Hiob (Book). Gammie, John G. // Journal of Biblical Literature;Dec79, Vol. 98 Issue 4, p591 

    Reviews the book 'Hiob,' by Franz Hesse.

  • Victor Franz Hess: A Short Biography. Nath, Biman // Resonance: Journal of Science Education;Oct2007, Vol. 12 Issue 10, p2 

    A biography of physicist Victor Franz Hess is presented. He was born at Waldstein Castle in Deutsch Feistritz on June 24, 1883 and attained his doctor of philosophy degree in 1901. Hess became interested in the reports of detection of electrical charges in insulated containers while working as...

  • Historic. BM // Gramophone;Mar95, Vol. 72 Issue 862, p122 

    Reviews the classical music recording `The Complete Solo American Columbian Recordings,' composed by Myra Hess and performed by Dame Myra Hess `Piano Sonata in A, D664,' composed by Franz Schubert.

  • Franz Schreker in Berlin. Moses, Kurt // American Record Guide;Mar/Apr2000, Vol. 63 Issue 2, p213 

    Reviews the classical music recording `Franz Schreker in Berlin,' by various composers and performed by Barbara Hesse-Bachmaier, Frankfurt (Oder) Orchestra and Nikos Athinaos.

  • Schubert: Ave Maria.  // Education;Apr1944, Vol. 64 Issue 8, p514 

    The article reviews the music release "Schubert: Ave Maria," composed by Franz Schubert and performed by Richard Crooks with the Victor Symphony Orchestra.

  • CDs CHAMBER & INSTRUMENTAL. Matthew-Walker, Robert // Classical Recordings Quarterly;Winter2011, Issue 67, p78 

    The article reviews a chamber and instrumental music release of works by Franz Liszt, performed by Artur Rubinstein and the RCA Victor Symphony Orchestra.

  • Moments Musicaux/Moments Musicaux (Music). Sundram, Jason // American Record Guide;May/Jun2004, Vol. 67 Issue 3, p149 

    Reviews the piano music recordings performed by Victor Ryabchikov. "Moments Musicaux," composed by Rachmaninoff; "Moments Musicaux," composed by Franz Schubert.

  • Piano Concerto No. 2. Snook, Paul A. // Fanfare: The Magazine for Serious Record Collectors;May/Jun2012, Vol. 35 Issue 5, p118 

    The article reviews a music release featuring works of composers Stanley Bate and Franz Reizenstein, performed by Victor Sangiorgio and Martin Yates.

  • I Hear a Symphony. Burlingame, Jon // Variety;7/15/2002 Supplement, Vol. 387 Issue 8, p44 

    Provides information on composers who created songs for Paramount Pictures. Victor Young; Elmer Bernstein; Franz Waxman; Miklos Rozsa.


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics