Prescient Words Delivered a Decade Ago

September 2001
Nieman Reports;Fall2001, Vol. 55 Issue 3, p81
Presents excerpts from the remarks of Geneva Overholser, editor of 'The Des Moines Register,' during the presentation of her award as Gannett's Editor of the Year, on October 10, 1990.


Related Articles

  • No more gongs for hacks. Hagerty, Bill // New Statesman;01/15/2001, Vol. 130 Issue 4520, p50 

    States views on several newspaper editors engaged in politics who received awards and recognition. Opposition of editor Roy Hattersley on the recognition given to journalist David English; Details on the award given to journalist Yasmin Alibhai Brown; Speculations on working journalists.

  • The Right Word.  // Time;5/12/1961, Vol. 77 Issue 20, p45 

    The article announces that newspaper editor William J. Dorvillier has received the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing.

  • Farm Press editor Harry Cine honored by Western Weed Society.  // Southwest Farm Press;4/15/2010, Vol. 37 Issue 11, p10 

    The article announces that Harry Cline, editor of "Western Farm Press," has received an honorary membership award from the Western Society of Weed Science (WSWS).

  • Eastern Door editor runs with the big boys globally.  // Eastern Door;7/4/2014, Vol. 23 Issue 26, p19 

    The article announces that an editorial piece on homophobia written by editor and publisher of the journal "Eastern Door" Steve Bonspiel was given a Golden Dozen award at the International Society of Weekly Newspaper Editors' conference in Durango, Colorado in June 2014.

  • Farm Press editor Harry Cline honored.  // Delta Farm Press;11/8/2013, Vol. 70 Issue 44, p2 

    The article announces that veteran agricultural journalist and "Western Farm Press" newspaper editor Harry Cline has received the Award for Excellence in 2013 from the Calcot cotton cooperative.

  • Paper receives awards from WTPA.  // Graham Leader;7/22/2009, Vol. 133 Issue 98, p1A 

    The article announces awards received by the newspaper "The Graham Leader," in the West Texas Press Association (WTPA) Better Newspaper Contest, including editor David Rupkalvis, who won in the news writing and editorial writing categories; sports editor Clay Stewart, who won for sports...

  • Two Nieman Fellows Receive 2007 ASNE Awards.  // Nieman Reports;Spring2007, Vol. 61 Issue 1, p113 

    This article announces that Nieman Fellows Anne Hull and Ken Armstrong have received recognition from the American Society of Newspaper Editors for their writing, with Hull being honored with the Batten Medal and Armstrong with the Distinguished Writing Award for Local Accountability Reporting.

  • Byline Brawls Redux: Not Enough Women, Fewer Choice Assignments.  // Media Report to Women;Spring2012, Vol. 40 Issue 2, p1 

    The article reports on the female-male byline gap in magazine found at the American Society of Magazine Editors' (ASME) 2012 Ellie awards in the U.S. It mentions that no women were finalists for Essays, Columns, Reporting, Features or Profiles for ASME awards, where all of the 25 writers...


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics