Contemporary Gimmickry

July 1976
New Republic;7/24/76, Vol. 175 Issue 4, p23
Entertainment Review
Reviews several music concerts held in New York City. "Symphony No. 3," by Roger Sessions; "Lamia," by Jacob Druckman; "Quadrivium," by Barbara Kolb.


Related Articles

  • Piano Sonatas 1+3/Mutations I+II; 21 Variations. Cook // American Record Guide;Jul/Aug2008, Vol. 71 Issue 4, p176 

    The article reviews several music releases including "Piano Sonatas 1+3," composed by Roger Sessions, "Mutations I+II," composed by Ralph Shapey and "21 Variations," composed by Shapey.

  • Symphony No 3. Smith, Ken // Gramophone;Jul2012, Vol. 90 Issue 1085, p53 

    The article reviews the classical music release "Symphony No. 3," composed by Gustav Maler and performed by Michaela Schuster, Chorus of Cologne Opera, and the Women and Children of Cologne Cathedral Choir with conductor Markus Stenz.

  • Karajan's first studio 'Eroica.'. Macdonald, Malcolm // Gramophone;Oct2012, Vol. 90 Issue 1088, p59 

    The article reviews a classical music release, featuring works composed by Ludwig van Beethoven, including "Symphony No 3, "Erotica," Op 55," performed by the Philharmonica Orchestra and Herbert von Karajan.

  • Høffding. Rickards, Guy // Gramophone;Oct2012, Vol. 90 Issue 1088, p63 

    The article reviews a classical music release featuring works by Finn Høffding, including "Det er ganske vist, Op 37," "Evolution (Symphony Fantasia No 1), Op 31" and "Symphony No 3, Op 12," performed by Jena Philharmonic Orchestra and Frank Cramer.

  • Symphonies: No. 3; No. 10. Abbot, Christopher // Fanfare: The Magazine for Serious Record Collectors;Sep/Oct2011, Vol. 35 Issue 1, p344 

    The article reviews the music release "Symphonies: No. 3," by F. Charles Adler.

  • That Quickening Pulse. Nor Spell Nor Charm. Lamia. Vittes, Laurence // Gramophone;Apr2014, Vol. 91 Issue 1109, pI 

    No abstract available.

  • Quartet 1; String Quintet; Canons; 6 Cello Pieces. Quinn // American Record Guide;Sep/Oct2006, Vol. 69 Issue 5, p202 

    The article reviews several music releases composed by Roger Sessions and performed by the Group for Contemporary Music including "Quartet 1," "String Quintet" and "Canons."

  • SPRATLEY Cargoes. A Helpston Fantasia. Symphony No. 3. Clarke, Colin // Fanfare: The Magazine for Serious Record Collectors;May/Jun2014, Vol. 37 Issue 5, p421 

    No abstract available.

  • CDs - ORCHESTRAL. Morgan, Kenneth // Classical Recordings Quarterly;Spring2013, Issue 72, p66 

    The article reviews an orchestral music release performed by Vienna Symphony Orchestra with conductor F. Charles Adler, Anny Felbermayer, and Austrian Radio Choir, featuring "Symphony No. 3 in D minor," composed by Anton Bruckner and "Symphony No. 2 in C minor Resurrection," composed by Gustav...


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics