TITLE

Missus Kara E. Walker: Emancipated, and On Tour

AUTHOR(S)
Pinder, Kymberly N.
PUB. DATE
December 2008
SOURCE
Art Bulletin;Dec2008, Vol. 90 Issue 4, p640
SOURCE TYPE
Review
DOC. TYPE
Entertainment Review
ABSTRACT
The article reviews the exhibition "Kara Walker: My Complement, My Enemy, My Oppressor, My Love" at the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis, Minnesota from February 17 to May 13, 2007, and the exhibition catalogue "Kara Walker: My Complement, My Enemy, My Oppressor, My Love."
ACCESSION #
35589929

 

Related Articles

  • KARA WALKER. Lemon, Brendan // Interview;Oct2007, Vol. 37 Issue 9, p176 

    The article reviews the art exhibition "Kara Walker: My Complement, My Enemy, My Oppressor, My Love," by artist Kara Walker at the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York City.

  • AN ARTIST'S VISION, A COMMUNITY'S RESPONSE. PRENTICE, GEORGE // Boise Weekly;8/6/2014, Vol. 23 Issue 7, Special section p9 

    The article reviews the exhibition "Emancipating the Past" by Kara Walker at the Boise Art Museum (BAM) till August 17, 2014.

  • Drawn to the Delta. Douglas, Sarah // Art + Auction;Apr2011, Vol. 34 Issue 8, p36 

    The article offers information on the two-venue art exhibition of Kara Walker at Sikkema Jenkins gallery in Chelsea, New York and at the Lower East Side Branch of Lehmann Maupin gallery in New York City from April 23 to June 4, 2011.

  • Kara Walker at Wooster Gardens. Reid, Calvin // Art in America;Sep96, Vol. 84 Issue 9, p106 

    Reviews the artworks of Kara Walker at the Wooster Gardens Gallery in New York.

  • New York. Schwazman, Carol // Art Papers Magazine;Jan/Feb2002, Vol. 26 Issue 1, p46 

    The article reviews the drawing exhibition "American Primitive," by Kara Walker at the Sikkema Jenkins & Co. gallery in New York City from September 8 to October 13.

  • Kara Walker electrifies the Studio Museum in Harlem. Trotman, Krishan // New York Amsterdam News;7/24/2003, Vol. 94 Issue 30, p17 

    The article reports on artist Kara Walker's silhouette installation exhibition at the Studio Museum in Harlem, New York City. Her wallpieces conceptualize stereotypical African-American images from the pre-Civil War and post-Civil War era. Walker's black paper silhouettes stem from early art...

  • Kara Walker at Wooster Gardens. Princenthal, Nancy // Art in America;Feb99, Vol. 87 Issue 2, p106 

    Evaluates the art exhibit of Kara Walker at the Wooster Gardens in New York New York. Materials used by Walker; Description of the drawings of Walker.

  • A New Way of Seeing. Robinson, Betsy // Spirituality & Health;Jan/Feb2008, Vol. 11 Issue 1, p16 

    The article reviews the exhibition "My Complement, My Enemy, My Oppressor, My Love," by Kara Walker at the Whitney Museum in New York City until February 3, 2008.

  • Sweetness and Power. SALTZ, JERRY // New York;6/2/2014, Vol. 47 Issue 12, p98 

    The article reviews the sculpture by artist Kara Walker titled "A Subtlety: Or the Marvelous Sugar Baby, An Homage to the Unpaid and Overworked Artisans Who Have Refined Our Sweet Tastes from the Cane Fields to the Kitchens of the New World on the Occasion of the Demolition of the Domino Sugar...

Share

Read the Article

Courtesy of THE LIBRARY OF VIRGINIA

Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics