Guide to Records: SCHUBERT

Fine, Elaine
July 2000
American Record Guide;Jul/Aug2000, Vol. 63 Issue 4, p184
Entertainment Review
Reviews two classical music recordings. `Quartet,' composed by Franz Schubert; `Quartet, op 80,' composed by Felix Mendelssohn.


Related Articles

  • Guide to records. Moses // American Record Guide;May/Jun96, Vol. 59 Issue 3, p188 

    Reviews a recording which features music composed by Franz Schubert and Felix Mendelssohn. Featured musicians; Quality of performance.

  • String Quintet/Quartet 6 (Music). Althouse, Paul L. // American Record Guide;Jul/Aug2004, Vol. 67 Issue 4, p165 

    Reviews two instrumental music releases performed by Matt Haimovitz and the Miro Quartet. "String Quintet," composed by Franz Schubert; "Quartet 6," composed by Felix Mendelssohn.

  • Cello Encores. Moore, D. // American Record Guide;Jan/Feb2006, Vol. 69 Issue 1, p239 

    The article reviews the music release "Cello Encores," featuring works composed by Franz Schubert and Felix Mendelssohn and performed by Miklos Perenyi.

  • Romantic Songbook. Boyer, John // American Record Guide;Sep/Oct2004, Vol. 67 Issue 5, p263 

    Reviews the German sound recording "Romantic Songbook," performed by Thomas Quasthoff, featuring works composed by Franz Schubert, Robert Schumann and Felix Mendelssohn.

  • Guide to records. Althouse // American Record Guide;Jul/Aug95, Vol. 58 Issue 4, p93 

    Reviews Johannes Brahms `Symphony 3,' Felix Mendelssohn's `Hebrides Overture' and Franz Schubert's `Symphony 5,' performed by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Fritz Reiner. Rhythm; Slow movements; Sonics.

  • Guide to records. Althouse // American Record Guide;Jul/Aug96, Vol. 59 Issue 4, p194 

    Reviews the classical music recording `Symphony 4,' by Robert Schumann with `Symphony 4,' by Franz Schubert and `Fair Melusine Overture,' by Felix Mendelssohn. Background information; Interpretation.

  • MENDELSSOHN Violin Concerto in E minor op.64/MOZART Adagio in E major K261, Rondo in C major K373/ SCHUBERT Stá ndchen (arr. Stephens). Potter, Tully // Strad;May2006, Vol. 117 Issue 1393, p87 

    Reviews several music releases performed by Nicola Benedetti, including "Violin Concerto in E Minor Op.64, composed by Felix Mendelssohn, "Adagio in E Major K261, Rondo in C Major K373," composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, "Stándchen," composed by Franz Schubert.

  • Guide to records. Mckelvy // American Record Guide;Sep/Oct95, Vol. 58 Issue 5, p170 

    Reviews the classical music compositions `Das Lied von der Erde,' by Gustav Mahler, `Midsummer Night's Dream excerpts,' by Felix Mendelssohn and `Symphony 8,' by Franz Schubert. Performers; Length of the programs; Conductor; Quality of recording.

  • Orchestral. J.S. // Gramophone;May96, Vol. 73 Issue 876, p60 

    Reviews the orchestral music recordings `Die schone Melusine, Op.32,' by Mendelssohn, `Symphony No.4 in C minor, `Tragic,' D417,' by Schubert and `Symphony No.4 in D minor, Op.120,' by Schumann. Pieces performed by the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra; Involvement of conductor by Nikolaus Harnoncourt.


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics