In the Old World and the New

Gatens, William J.
May 2006
American Record Guide;May/Jun2006, Vol. 69 Issue 3, p195
Music Review
The article reviews several organ music releases by various composers performed by Claudia Dumschat. They include "Fantasia in F minor," by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, "Prelude, Fugue & Chaconne in C," by Dietrich Buxtehude, and "Noel Variations," by Marcel Dupré.


Related Articles

  • Dominant Accord. Metz // American Record Guide;Jul/Aug2012, Vol. 75 Issue 4, p239 

    The article reviews several music releases including "Fantasy in F Minor," by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, "Praeludium in E," by Dietrich Buxtehude, and "Toccatina," by John Alcock, performed by Susan De Kam.

  • PERFORMANCE PRACTICE ISSUES RELATED TO THE FANTASIA IN F MINOR (K. 608) BY WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART PART I. Stipp, Neil // American Organist Magazine;Jun2006, Vol. 40 Issue 6, p70 

    Focuses on performance practice issues related to the composition "Fantasia in F Minor," by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Regard of Mozart to the organ as king of instruments; Number of compositions of Mozart reaching 600; Reason of Mozart for completing his organ pieces only at the latter days of...

  • The Art of Organ Improvisation. Riley, John // Organ;Feb-Apr2015, Vol. 94 Issue 371, p32 

    The sheet music for the songs "Mozartian Aria," by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart "Romance" and "Pentatonic Interlude."

  • Rondo in D KV382. O'Gorman, Francis // Organists' Review;Dec2014, Vol. 100 Issue 4, p68 

    No abstract available.

  • Cambridge Academy of Organ Studies (CAOS). Ponsford, David // Organ;May-Jul2007, Vol. 86 Issue 340, p33 

    The article focuses on the presentation made by Geoffrey Webber on the organ music of German composer Dieterich Buxtehude at the Cambridge Academy of Organ Studies in Massachusetts on March 17, 2007. Webber stressed that most of the sources of information on Buxtehude's date from early 18th...

  • Through a glass darkly. Webber, Geoffrey // Early Music;Nov98, Vol. 26 Issue 4, p678 

    Reviews the music recording `Samtliche Orgelwerke,' composed by Dietrich Buxtehude. Buxtehude's organ music included in the album.

  • BUXTEHUDE: Organ Pieces 2 (Music release). Mulbury, David // American Record Guide;May/Jun2003, Vol. 66 Issue 3, p79 

    Reviews the organ music recording 'Organ Pieces 2,' featuring works composed by Dietrich Buxtehude and performed by Julia Brown.

  • FROM THE CHAPLAIN. Troeger, Thomas H. // American Organist Magazine;Mar2012, Vol. 46 Issue 3, p10 

    A personal narrative is presented which explores the author's experience of attending an organ recital by Martin Jean that exclusively featured the music of composer Dieterich Buxtehude.

  • Prelude, Fugue and Chaconne in C/Jesu meine Freude/Toccata and Fugue in d... Bayley, Lynn René // Fanfare: The Magazine for Serious Record Collectors;Mar/Apr2013, Vol. 36 Issue 4, p119 

    A recording of Kimberley Marshall's "Prelude, Fugue, and Chaconne in C," by Diderich Buxtehude and Bach's "Jesu meine Freude," in a CD titled "Bach Encounters Buxtehude," is reviewed.


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics