Piano Works

Sullivan, Jack
May 2006
American Record Guide;May/Jun2006, Vol. 69 Issue 3, p182
Entertainment Review
The article reviews the piano music release "Piano Works," composed by Charles Wuorinen.


Related Articles

  • Trio for Bass Instruments; Horn Trio; Horn Trio Continued; Piano Trio; Double Solo for Horn Trio; Trombone Trio. Moore, David W. // American Record Guide;May/Jun2006, Vol. 69 Issue 3, p183 

    The article reviews an instrumental music release featuring works composed by Charles Wuorinen and performed by the Group for Contemporary Music, including "Trio for Bass Instruments," "Horn Trio" and "Horn Trio Continued."

  • Guide to records: Wuorinen. Moore, David W. // American Record Guide;Jul/Aug98, Vol. 61 Issue 4, p227 

    Reviews several piano and percussion music recordings by Charles Wuorinen. `Piano Quintet'; `Lightenings VIII'; `The Mission of Virgil'; `Percussion Quartet.'

  • Ashberyana; Praegustatum; Fenton Songs I+II; Ave Christe of Josquin; Josquiniana. KILPATRICK // American Record Guide;Sep/Oct2008, Vol. 71 Issue 5, p200 

    The article reviews a music release of compositions by Charles Wuorinen, including "Ashberyana," "Praegustatum" and "Josquiniana," performed by pianists Sarah Rosenberg and Alan Feinberg.

  • After Grand Hotel. Fine // American Record Guide;Jul/Aug2005, Vol. 68 Issue 4, p214 

    Reviews a piano music recording performed by Ananda Trio.

  • Orchestral. A.W. // Gramophone;Feb95, Vol. 72 Issue 861, p60 

    Reviews the classical music recording `A Winter's Tale,'`Album Leaf,'`String Sextet,'`Twang,' and `New York Notes,' by Charles Wuorinen. Interpretation; Musicality; Performance.

  • Guide to records. Raymond // American Record Guide;Mar/Apr95, Vol. 58 Issue 2, p224 

    Reviews the classical music recordings `A Winter's Tale,' `Album Leaf for Howard Klein,' `String Sextet,' `Twang,' and `New York Notes,' composed by Charles Wuorinen and performed by Phyllis Bryn-Johnson and the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center. Performance highlights; Orchestration;...

  • Guide to records. Moore, David W. // American Record Guide;Nov/Dec93, Vol. 56 Issue 6, p223 

    Reviews the classical music recording `Trios (1981-1985),' by Charles Wuorinen. Performance of Group of Contemporary Music; Aggressive tone of the interpretations of Wuorinen.

  • Guide to records. Lehman // American Record Guide;Jul/Aug94, Vol. 57 Issue 4, p188 

    Reviews the classical music recordings of songs composed by Charles Wuorinen. Includes String Trio; Arabia Felix; Piano Variations; Speculum Speculi; Flute Variations 1+2; Glogauer Liederbuch; Speculum Musicae performs; Group of Contemporary Music; Easley Blackwood on piano.

  • Guide to records. Ashby, Arved // American Record Guide;Sep/Oct97, Vol. 60 Issue 5, p234 

    Reviews the music recordings `2-Part Symphony,' `Tuba Concerto,' `Piano Concerto,' and `Chamber Concerto,' composed by Charles Wourinen, performed by David Braynard, Harvey Sollberger, American Composers Orchestra conducted by Dennis Russell Davies.


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics