Piano Sonata 7; Cello Sonata; Symphony 1; March/Melodie/Vocalise

Moore, David W.
May 2006
American Record Guide;May/Jun2006, Vol. 69 Issue 3, p147
Entertainment Review
The article reviews several violoncello music releases composed by Sergei Prokofieff and performed by Polina Leschenko. It includes "Piano Sonata 7," Cello Sonata" and Symphony 1."


Related Articles

  • PROKOFIEV Piano Sonata No.7. Symphony No. 1, "Classical" (arr. Terashima).1 Cello Sonata.2 Love for Three Oranges: March (arr. Heifetz).3 TCHAIKOVSKY Souvenir d'un lieu cher: Mélodie.3 RACH-MANINOFF Vocailse (arr. Lakatos).2,3 Rabinowitz, Peter J. // Fanfare: The Magazine for Serious Record Collectors;May/Jun2007, Vol. 30 Issue 5, p169 

    The article reviews several music releases including "Piano Sonata No. 7: Symphony No. 1," and "Cello Sonata: Love for Three Oranges," by composed by Sergey Prokofiev, "Souvenir d'un lieu cher," composed by Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky, and "Vocalise," composed by Sergei Rachmaninoff and performed by...

  • Russian Cello. Moore, David W. // American Record Guide;May/Jun2006, Vol. 69 Issue 3, p190 

    The article reviews the music release "Russian Cello," featuring the works composed by Anton Rubinstein and Sergei Prokofieff, performed by Michael Kanka, Marek Jerie, Jaromir Klepac and Ivan Klansky.

  • Cello Sonata. Bayley, Lynn René // Fanfare: The Magazine for Serious Record Collectors;Jul/Aug2012, Vol. 35 Issue 6, p477 

    Recordings of three versions of "Cello Sonata," composed by Dmitrii Dmitrievich Shostakovich, Benjamin Britten Sergey Prokokiev, performed by Jamie Walton and Daniel Grimwood, are reviewed.

  • Reviews: CDs. Stowell, Robin // Strad;Oct96, Vol. 107 Issue 1278, p1079 

    Reviews the music recording by violinist Gil Shaham and the London Symphony Orchestra with conductor Andre Previn of Sergei Prokofiev's `Violin Concertos numbers 1 and 2; Sonata for Solo Violin opus 115.'

  • Reviews: CDs. Talbot, Joanne // Strad;Jan98, Vol. 109 Issue 1293, p74 

    Reviews the compact disc recording featuring the classical music of Sergei Prokofiev.

  • Review: CDs. Roth, Henry // Strad;Aug97, Vol. 108 Issue 1288, p881 

    Reviews a recording of classical composer Sergei Prokofiev's `Violin Concertos nos. 1&2' and `Solo Violin Sonata,' as performed by violinist Tedi Papavrami and the Polish National Radio Symphony under conductor Antoni Wit.

  • Instrumental. D.J.F. // Gramophone;Jan98, Vol. 75 Issue 897, p79 

    Reviews the music recording `Piano Sonatas--No. 6 in AA, Op. 82,' `No 7 in B flat, Op. 83,' and `No. 8 in B flat, Op. 84,' by Prokofiev and performed by Sviatoslav Richter.

  • Orchestral. R.C. // Gramophone;May97, Vol. 74 Issue 888, p64 

    Reviews the classical music recording `Concertos for Violin and Orchestra--Number 1 in D, Op. 19; Numer 2 in G minor, Op. 63. Solo Violin Sonata in D, Op. 115,' composed by Sergie Prokofiev, performed by the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra.

  • Opera. D.J.F. // Gramophone;Nov96, Vol. 74 Issue 882, p60 

    Focuses on the classical music recording of compositions by Sergei Prokofiev, performed by soprano Galina Gorchakova, baritone Sergei Leiferkus, et al, Gramophone Awards' 1996 Record of the Year in the opera category. Spot-on tempos; Orchestral adjustments.


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics