Symphonies 1 + 3/Symphony 4; Sinfonietta for Strings

Haldeman, Philip
May 2006
American Record Guide;May/Jun2006, Vol. 69 Issue 3, p68
Entertainment Review
The article reviews a CD collection of orchestral music releases composed by William Alwyn and performed by the Liverpool Philharmonic including "Symphonies 1 + 3," "Symphony 4," and "Sinfonietta for Strings.


Related Articles

  • Elizabethan Dances; Oboe Concerto; Symphonic Prelude; Festival March; Innumerable Dance; Aphrodite in Aulis. Hecht // American Record Guide;May/Jun2007, Vol. 70 Issue 3, p70 

    The article reviews several music releases composed by William Alwyn, including "Elizabethan Dances," "Oboe Concerto," and Symphonic Prelude," performed by Jonathan Small and the Liverpool Philharmonic.

  • Symphonies 5+9. ESTEP // American Record Guide;Mar/Apr2010, Vol. 73 Issue 2, p156 

    The article reviews the orchestral music release "Symphonies 5+9," composed by Dmitri Shostakovich and performed by the Liverpool Philharmonic, conducted by Vasily Petrenko.

  • Symphonies 1+9. Chakwin // American Record Guide;May/Jun2008, Vol. 71 Issue 3, p144 

    The article reviews the music release "Symphonies 1+9" composed by Gustav Mahler, performed by the Liverpool Philharmonic and conducted by Gerard Schwarz.

  • Manfred Symphony; The Voyevoda. VROON // American Record Guide;Mar/Apr2009, Vol. 72 Issue 2, p210 

    The article reviews the music releases "Manfred Symphony" and "The Voyevoda," both composed by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky and performed by Liverpool Philharmonic.

  • Symphony 2/Aleko Dances. VROON // American Record Guide;Mar/Apr2013, Vol. 76 Issue 2, p134 

    The article reviews an orchestral music release featuring works composed by Sergei Rachmaninoff and performed by Liverpool Philharmonic, with conductor Vassily Petrenko, including "Symphony 2" and "Aleko Dances."

  • Symphonies 1+2. Hecht // American Record Guide;Nov/Dec2006, Vol. 69 Issue 6, p265 

    The article reviews the orchestral music release "Symphonies 1+2," featuring works composed by William Alwyn, performed by the BBC Symphony and the Halle Orchestra with conductor John Barbirolli.

  • Overview. HECHT // American Record Guide;Sep/Oct2010, Vol. 73 Issue 5, p52 

    The article offers information on several classical composers and their compositions. The works composed by William Alwyn have been revived by Liverpool Philharmonic with conductor David Lloyd-Jones while the works composed by Richard Arnell have been revived by the Scottish National Symphony...

  • Classical. Webb, Adam // Music Week;7/30/2005, Issue 31, p22 

    Reviews the classical music release "Piano Concertos 1 & 2," composed by William Alwyn performed by Peter Donohoe.

  • Symphony 6. HECHT // American Record Guide;Jul/Aug2009, Vol. 72 Issue 4, p130 

    The article reviews the music release "Symphony 6," composed by Gustav Mahler and performed by Liverpool Philharmonic and Gerard Schwarz.


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics