Folk Songs of New Mexico

March 2006
American Record Guide;Mar/Apr2006, Vol. 69 Issue 2, p162
Entertainment Review
Reviews the classical music release "Folk Songs of New Mexico," composed by John Donald Robb and performed by Leslie Umphrey with the Polish Radio Symphony.


Related Articles

  • LIPINSKI Violin Concerto no.1 In F sharp minor op. 14, Rondo alla polacca op.13, Variations de bravoure sur une romance militaire op.22. STOWELL, ROBIN // Strad;Oct2006, Vol. 117 Issue 1398, p90 

    The article reviews the music release "Violin Concerto No. 1 in F sharp minor Op. 14," "Rondo alla Polacca Op. 13," and "Variations de bravoure sur une romance militaire Op. 22," all composed by Karol Josef Lipinski and performed by violinist Albrecht Laurent Breuninger and the Polish Radio...

  • Piano Concerto; Capriccio; De Natura Sonoris 2. Gimbel, Allen // American Record Guide;Mar/Apr2008, Vol. 71 Issue 2, p154 

    The article reviews a music release of compositions by Krzysztof Penderecki, including "Piano Concerto," "Capriccio" and "De Natura Sonoris 2," and performed by Patrycja Piekutowska, Beata Bilinska and the Polish Radio Symphony.

  • Guide to Records. Kilpatrick // American Record Guide;Mar/Apr2006, Vol. 69 Issue 2, p162 

    Reviews two orchestral music releases composed by John David Robb and performed by Dariusz Korcz with the Polish Radio Symphony. "Symphony I"; "Viola Concerto."

  • Jewish Songs; Clarinet Sonata; Piano Quintet. Lehman // American Record Guide;Mar/Apr2007, Vol. 70 Issue 2, p174 

    The article reviews two orchestral music releases featuring the works of Moishei Vainberg, performed by Richard Margison, the ARC Ensemble, and the Polish Radio Symphony with conductor Gabriel Chmura, including "Jewish Songs," "Clarinet Sonata," and "Piano Quintet."

  • Symphony 4; Variations in B-flat minor/Piano Concerto 2. BAUMAN // American Record Guide;Nov/Dec2008, Vol. 71 Issue 6, p244 

    The article reviews several music releases performed by Felicja Blumental, Polish Radio Symphony with conductor Kazimierz Kord and Innsbruck Symphony with conductor Robert Wagner, including "Symphony 4," composed by Karol Szymanowski, "Variations in B-Flat Minor," composed by Chopin and "Piano...

  • John Donald Robb's Imperative to Collect: Toward an Archival Ethnography of the Robb Archive for Southwestern Music. RIVERA, RAQUEL Z. // Latin American Music Review;Fall/Winter2015, Vol. 36 Issue 2, p231 

    John Donald Robb (1892-1989) was a composer, music professor, and University of New Mexico administrator who for decades enthusiastically collected Southwestern folk music—in particular Spanish-language nuevo mexicano music. His correspondence as well as other archived documents provide...

  • Collections. Barker, John W. // American Record Guide;Jul/Aug97, Vol. 60 Issue 4, p225 

    Reviews the music recordings `World's Bliss,' `Tunes from the Attic,' and `The Mystic and the Muse,' performed by John Fleagle and Shira Kammen, Baltimore Consort, and Ensemble Galilei respectively.

  • Hispanic Folk Music of New Mexico and the Southwest: A Self-Portrait of a People. Rapin, Ronald F. // Studies in Latin American Popular Culture;2015, Vol. 33, p201 

    No abstract available.

  • Symphony 1; Morskie Oko; Charcoal Sketches; Overtures. Haller // American Record Guide;Nov/Dec2009, Vol. 72 Issue 6, p153 

    The article reviews an orchestral music release featuring works composed by Zygmunt Noskowski and performed by Polish Radio Symphony, including "Symphony 1," "Morksie Oko" and "Charcoal Sketches."


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics