String Quintet/Quartet 6 (Music)

Althouse, Paul L.
July 2004
American Record Guide;Jul/Aug2004, Vol. 67 Issue 4, p165
Entertainment Review
Reviews two instrumental music releases performed by Matt Haimovitz and the Miro Quartet. "String Quintet," composed by Franz Schubert; "Quartet 6," composed by Felix Mendelssohn.


Related Articles

  • Guide to records. Moses // American Record Guide;May/Jun96, Vol. 59 Issue 3, p188 

    Reviews a recording which features music composed by Franz Schubert and Felix Mendelssohn. Featured musicians; Quality of performance.

  • Trio 1/Trio 2. FRENCH // American Record Guide;Jan/Feb2011, Vol. 74 Issue 1, p162 

    The article reviews an ensemble music release featuring "Trio 1," composed by Felix Mendelssohn and "Trio 2," composed by Franz Schubert, and performed by the Smetana Trio.

  • REVIEWS CDS. Potter, Tully // Strad;Aug2004, Vol. 115 Issue 1372, p849 

    Reviews two string quartet music releases performed by the Miró Quartet and cellist Matt Haimovitz and released on compact disc. "Quartet in F Minor Op. 80," composed by Felix Mendelssohn; "Quintet in C Major D956," composed by Franz Schubert.

  • Guide to Records: SCHUBERT. Fine, Elaine // American Record Guide;Jul/Aug2000, Vol. 63 Issue 4, p184 

    Reviews two classical music recordings. `Quartet,' composed by Franz Schubert; `Quartet, op 80,' composed by Felix Mendelssohn.

  • MENDELSSOHN Violin Concerto in E minor op.64/MOZART Adagio in E major K261, Rondo in C major K373/ SCHUBERT Stá ndchen (arr. Stephens). Potter, Tully // Strad;May2006, Vol. 117 Issue 1393, p87 

    Reviews several music releases performed by Nicola Benedetti, including "Violin Concerto in E Minor Op.64, composed by Felix Mendelssohn, "Adagio in E Major K261, Rondo in C Major K373," composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, "Stándchen," composed by Franz Schubert.

  • Guide to records. Althouse // American Record Guide;Jul/Aug95, Vol. 58 Issue 4, p93 

    Reviews Johannes Brahms `Symphony 3,' Felix Mendelssohn's `Hebrides Overture' and Franz Schubert's `Symphony 5,' performed by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Fritz Reiner. Rhythm; Slow movements; Sonics.

  • Guide to records. Mckelvy // American Record Guide;Sep/Oct95, Vol. 58 Issue 5, p170 

    Reviews the classical music compositions `Das Lied von der Erde,' by Gustav Mahler, `Midsummer Night's Dream excerpts,' by Felix Mendelssohn and `Symphony 8,' by Franz Schubert. Performers; Length of the programs; Conductor; Quality of recording.

  • Orchestral. J.S. // Gramophone;May96, Vol. 73 Issue 876, p60 

    Reviews the orchestral music recordings `Die schone Melusine, Op.32,' by Mendelssohn, `Symphony No.4 in C minor, `Tragic,' D417,' by Schubert and `Symphony No.4 in D minor, Op.120,' by Schumann. Pieces performed by the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra; Involvement of conductor by Nikolaus Harnoncourt.

  • Cello Encores. Moore, D. // American Record Guide;Jan/Feb2006, Vol. 69 Issue 1, p239 

    The article reviews the music release "Cello Encores," featuring works composed by Franz Schubert and Felix Mendelssohn and performed by Miklos Perenyi.


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics