TITLE

AGAINST THE ODDS: Riding for My Life

PUB. DATE
March 2005
SOURCE
Kirkus Reviews;3/1/2005, Vol. 73 Issue 5, p269
SOURCE TYPE
Review
DOC. TYPE
Book Review
ABSTRACT
Reviews the book "Against the Odds: Riding for My Life," by Jerry Bailey with Tom Pedulla.
ACCESSION #
16406237

 

Related Articles

  • AGAINST THE ODDS: Riding for My Life.  // Publishers Weekly;3/7/2005, Vol. 252 Issue 10, p59 

    Reviews the book "Against the Odds Riding for My Life," by Jerry Bailey and Tom Pedulla.

  • Against the Odds: Riding for My Life. Gray, Patsy // Library Journal;4/15/2005, Vol. 130 Issue 7, p96 

    Reviews the book "Against the Odds: Riding for My Life," by Jerry Bailey and Tom Pedulla.

  • Against the Odds: Riding for My Life (Book). Dodge, Dennis // Booklist;3/15/2005, Vol. 101 Issue 14, p1257 

    Reviews the book “Against the Odds: Riding for My Life,” by Jerry Bailey, and Tom Pedulla.

  • Q+A Jerry Bailey. Deitsch, Richard; Bailey, Jerry; Bechtel, Mark; Cannella, Stephen // Sports Illustrated;4/25/2005, Vol. 102 Issue 17, p22 

    The article presents an interview with Jerry Bailey, a 47-year-old Hall of Fame jockey and author of the just published "Against the Odds: Riding for My Life." SI: You've been sober since 1989 and your book details your alcoholism. How did your drinking affect your riding? Bailey: "I was never...

  • Riding high. Carlson, Frank; Nation, John // Louisville Magazine;May97, Vol. 48 Issue 5, p52 

    Features Jerry Bailey, a professional jockey in the Kentucky derbies. Races won; Highlights of Bailey's career; Family background; Game attitude.

  • Thundering along. Reed, William F. // Sports Illustrated;3/20/95, Vol. 82 Issue 11, p115 

    Announces that Jerry Bailey, 37, won the first six of nine horse races on last Saturday's card at Gulfstream Park, tying a track record for most wins on a single card. How many races Bailey has won in his 20-year career; How it had seemed inevitable that he would win the $500,000 Florida Derby...

  • Don't look back. Reed, William F. // Sports Illustrated;11/6/95, Vol. 83 Issue 20, p52 

    Focuses on the 1995 Breeders' Cup Classic, the world's richest horse race. The winner, Cigar, ridden by Jerry Bailey; Weather and condition of the track; Highlights of the race.

  • Silky SMOOTH. Nack, William // Sports Illustrated;11/06/2000, Vol. 93 Issue 19, p74 

    Focuses on thoroughbred racing jockey Jerry Bailey. Biographical information; Comparison made between Bailey in the 1990s to legend Heady Eddie of the 1940s; How he won his first Kentucky Derby in 1993, aboard Sea Hero; Impact of his decision to quit drinking alcohol on his life.

  • Local Hall of Fame jockey Jerry Bailey will retire. Harrison, Sally // Fort Worth Business Press;1/30/2006, Vol. 19 Issue 5, p39 

    Presents news briefs related to horse racing in the U.S. as of January 30, 2006. Retirement of Jerry Bailey from horse racing; Announcement of the American Quarter Horse Association's 2005 Racing Champions; Move of the Maryland Racing Commission to quarantine the Pimlico Race Course in Maryland.

Share

Read the Article

Courtesy of THE LIBRARY OF VIRGINIA

Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics