TITLE

The Land of Prester John: A Chronicle of Portuguese Exploration/Cardinal of Spain: The Life and Strange Career of Albersoni/Anna and the King of Siam (Book)

AUTHOR(S)
Bates, Ralph
PUB. DATE
July 1944
SOURCE
New Republic;7/17/44, Vol. 111 Issue 3, p80
SOURCE TYPE
Review
DOC. TYPE
Book Review
ABSTRACT
Reviews several books. "The Land of Prester John: A Chronicle of Portuguese Exploration," by Elaine Sanceau; "Cardinal of Spain: The Life and Strange Career of Alberoni," by Simon Harcourt-Smith; "Anna and the King of Siam," by Margaret Landon.
ACCESSION #
14671715

 

Related Articles

  • ANNA AND THE KING OF SIAM. M. B. K. // AudioFile;Jun/Jul2013, Vol. 22 Issue 1, p30 

    The article reviews the audio book "Anna and the King of Siam" by Margaret Landon, narrated by Anne Flosnik.

  • ANNA AND THE KING OF SIAM. Murphy, Catherine // America;7/22/1944, Vol. 71 Issue 16, p420 

    The article reviews the book "Anna and the King of Siam," by Margaret Landon.

  • MISSIONARIES TO THE NEGUS. Shiels, W. Eugene // America;6/3/1944, Vol. 71 Issue 9, p243 

    The article reviews the book "The Land of Prester John," by Elaine Sanceau.

  • HENRY THE NAVIGATOR: The Story of a Great Prince and his Times. Dunne, Peter Masten // America;5/31/1947, Vol. 77 Issue 9, p243 

    The article reviews the book "Henry the Navigator: The Story of a Great and his Times," by Elaine Sanceau.

  • The King and I in Uncle Tom's Cabin, or On the Border of the Women's Room. Donaldson, Laura // Cinema Journal;Spring90, Vol. 29 Issue 3, p53 

    The article discusses the feminist theme of the film "The King and I." Adapted from the book "Anna and the King of Siam," the film is about a governess in Thailand who overcame gender stereotypes and succeeded in teaching Western values to the Thai King. Unlike the protagonist in the novel "The...

  • "Am I King or Am I Not King?" Conflict, Gender, and Reconciliation in The King and I. Hsun Lin // American Music Research Center Journal;2010, Vol. 19, p13 

    The article discusses the character of the king in the musical "The King and I," based on Margaret Landon's novel "Anna and the King of Siam." The musical tells the story of Anna Leonowens, a widowed British schoolteacher. According to the article, the story reverses the traditional gender...

  • A little help from my friend.  // ATA News;4/23/2013, Vol. 47 Issue 16, p16 

    An image of school volunteer Margaret Landon and a student at the library of Grovenor School in Edmonton, Alberta is presented.

  • Renaissance: Studies in Art & Poetry (Release Date: 11/1/2000). Pater, Walter // Renaissance: Studies in Art & Poetry (Release Date: 11/1/2000);1/1/1910, p1 

    Presents the complete text of "Renaissance: Studies in Art & Poetry (Release Date: 11/1/2000)" by Pater, Walter, 1839-1894.

  • prepub alert. Hoffert, Barbara // Library Journal;5/15/2008, Vol. 133 Issue 9, p80 

    A list of books deemed notable by the magazine and scheduled for publication in 2008 is presented. Fiction stand-outs include "Takeover," by Lisa Black and "Deaf Sentence," by David Lodge. Among the nonfiction choices are "The Numerati," by Stephen Baker and "Angler: The Cheney Vice Presidency,"...

Share

Read the Article

Courtesy of THE LIBRARY OF VIRGINIA

Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics