TITLE

A Man Who Lived With Failure

AUTHOR(S)
Brynes, Asher
PUB. DATE
August 1961
SOURCE
New Republic;8/21/61, Vol. 145 Issue 8/9, p24
SOURCE TYPE
Review
DOC. TYPE
Book Review
ABSTRACT
Reviews the book "The Winter of Our Discontent," by John Steinback.
ACCESSION #
10315562

 

Related Articles

  • Damnation of Ethan Hawley.  // Time;6/23/1961, Vol. 77 Issue 26, p72 

    The article reviews the book "The Winter of Our Discontent," by John Steinbeck.

  • The Old Pro and Three Newcomers.  // America;7/22/1961, Vol. 105 Issue 17, p554 

    The article reviews the book "The Winter of Our Discontent," by John Steinbeck.

  • Steppenwolf eyes pic biz with Steinbeck's 'Winter' Bing, Jonathan // Daily Variety;01/03/2001, Vol. 270 Issue 22, p1 

    Reports on Chicago, Illinois-based Steppenwolf Theatre's plan to produce television programs and motion pictures as of January 3, 2001. Theater company's plan to produce a movie based on the book 'The Winter of Our Discontent,' by John Steinbeck.

  • THE WINTER OF OUR DISCONTENT. D.M.W. // AudioFile;Dec2012/Jan2013, Vol. 21 Issue 4, p50 

    The article reviews the audio book "The Winter of Our Discontent," by John Steinbeck, narrated by David Aaron Baker.

  • From Object Realism to Magic Materiality: The End(s) of Social Critique in Steinbeck's "The Winter of Our Discontent." Kocela, Christopher // South Atlantic Review;Winter2008, Vol. 73 Issue 1, p68 

    An essay is presented of the book "The Winter of Our Discontent" by John Steinbeck is presented. The author explores the novel as a critique of capitalist ideology, and analyzes the theme of the supernatural in the world of commerce. Other topics include Marxist social theory, object realism,...

  • Untitled.  // Time;10/13/1961, Vol. 78 Issue 15, p107 

    The article offers information on several movies, television shows and books. They include the television program "The Bob Newhart Show," the best read book "A New Life" and the movie "The Man Who Wagged His Tail." Also included are the best selling fiction and nonfiction books including "Franny...

  • Sea of Cortez (Book). Hyman, Stanley Edgar // New Republic;2/16/42, Vol. 106 Issue 7, p242 

    Reviews the book "Sea of Cortez," by John Steinback and Edward F. Ricketts.

  • TRAVELS WITH CHARLEY IN SEARCH OF AMERICA.  // New Yorker;9/8/1962, Vol. 38 Issue 29, p152 

    The article reviews the book "Travels With Charley in Search of America," by John Steinback.

  • CULTURE. Allen, Geoff // Canadian Geographic;Dec2011, Vol. 131 Issue 6, p78 

    The article reviews the book "Winter: Five Windows on the Season," by Adam Gopnik.

Share

Read the Article

Courtesy of VIRGINIA BEACH PUBLIC LIBRARY AND SYSTEM

Sign out of this library

Other Topics