Meet the 2002 MTNA-Shepherd Distinguished Composer of the Year

Ediger, Thomas
June 2003
American Music Teacher;Jun/Jul2003, Vol. 52 Issue 6, p86
Academic Journal
Profiles Timothy Hoekman, recipient of the 2002 Music Teachers' National Association-Shepherd Distinguished Composer of the Year. Composition of the song cycle of Hoekman; Career in teaching at Florida State University; Examples of his compositions; Educational background.


Related Articles

  • The King James Bible Composition Awards.  // Organ;May-Jul2010, Vol. 89 Issue 352, p8 

    The article offers information about the King James Bible's composition awards in Great Britain.

  • Electronic Music Composition Contest Winners Announced.  // Teaching Music;Aug2012, Vol. 20 Issue 1, p16 

    The article announces winners of the 2012 National Association for Music Education's (NAfME) Electronic Music Composition Contest, which included Diego Stine of Vienna, Virginia, Cassidy Johnson of Hoover, Alabama, and Kristina Higgins of Levitttown, New York.

  • MTNA Distinguished Composer 2008: William Price. Witherspoon, Ann Rivers // American Music Teacher;Jun/Jul2009, Vol. 58 Issue 6, p68 

    The article discusses the musical composition of William Price, who was awarded the 2008 Music Teachers National Association (MTNA) Distinguished Composer in the U.S. It is mentioned that his piece "Hardboiled" is fresh, compelling, intelligent and bold and shows an effect that is stirring and...

  • DIE KUNST, SICH IMMER NEU ZU ENTWERFEN. NYFFELER, MAX // Dissonance / Dissonanz;sep2009, Issue 107, p29 

    The article presents information about the achievements of Swiss composer Klaus Huber, who was awarded the Siemens Music Prize in February 2009. Descriptions are given of Huber's compositional philosophy, his compositions' intentional slowness, and his history as a music instructor at European...

  • NARADA MICHAEL WALDEN.  // Ebony;Dec1987, Vol. 43 Issue 2, p68 

    The article features songwriter and producer Narada Michael Walden. Walden has been cited by the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers as Songwriter of the Year for 1986 and by Billboard as Producer of the Year and is responsible for some of the hit songs of artists such as...

  • King James Bible Composition Awards.  // Organ;Aug-Oct2011, Vol. 90 Issue 357, p9 

    The article announces the 2011 King James Bible Composition Awards given to composers in different categories namely Christopher Totney for the Category A, and Zachary Wadsworth in category B.

  • Three to watch. Shean, Olivia // New Statesman;11/6/2006, Vol. 135 Issue 4817, p40 

    The article profiles three musicians nominated for British Composer Awards. Simon Holt as been nominated in the "Instrumental Solo and Duo" and "Listerners'" categories. His major works are "Who Put Bella in the Wych Elm?" and "The Icarus Trilogy." Jonathan Dove is nominated in the "Choral" and...

  • SOCAN Foundation Presents Annual Young Composers Awards.  // Canadian Musician;Jul/Aug2012, Vol. 34 Issue 4, p15 

    The article announces the winners of the SOCAN Foundation's 21st Annual SOCAN Foundation Awards for Young Composers, which include Zosha Di Castri and Adam Basanta.

  • Gaudeamus Muziekweek. Mitrović, Radoš // New Sound: International Magazine for Music;2015, Issue 45, p221 

    No abstract available.


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics