Pioneering physicist Dr. Warren E. Henry honored at Berkeley National Laboratory

November 1997
Jet;11/10/97, Vol. 92 Issue 25, p37
Reports that Dr. Warren E. Henry, a physicist who helped develop radar during World War II, has been honored by the Ernest Orlando Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in Berkeley, California. Tributes to Henry from former students and colleagues; His work with magnetism and superconductivity; Educational background.


Related Articles

  • We hear that.  // Physics Today;Jan84, Vol. 37 Issue 1, p92 

    Announces awards given to physicists as of January 1984. Mathematical physics prize awarded to Robert B. Griffiths; Southeastern American Physical Society (APS) honors given to W.L. Alford and I.A. Sellin; Honoring of Arthur S. Lodge with a gold medal from European rheologists.

  • THE NOBEL PRIZE IN PHYSICS. Weart, Spencer // Physics Today;Jan84, Vol. 37 Issue 1, pS47 

    Lists winners of the 1983 Nobel Prize for Physics, Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar and William A. Fowler, for work relating to the evolution of the stars.

  • Science Writing Award for Greenstein's Frozen Star.  // Physics Today;Dec84, Vol. 37 Issue 12, p65 

    Announces the United States Steel Foundation Science Writing Award for professor of astronomy George Greenstein's book 'Frozen Star' as of the December 1984 issue of 'Physics Today'. Information on George Greenstein's education and professional background.

  • We hear that.  // Physics Today;Oct86, Vol. 39 Issue 10, p137 

    Announces the awards given to outstanding physicists. Five recipients of Lawrence Awards; Awarding of the American Crystallographic Association (ACA) Fankuchen Award to Michael G. Rossmann.

  • Franklin Institute announces 1995 medals.  // Physics Today;May95, Vol. 48 Issue 5, p79 

    Reports on the presentation of medals to three physicists by the Franklin Institute for 1995. Gerard't Hooft; Alfred Y. Cho; Joel L. Lebowitz.

  • In brief.  // Physics Today;May95, Vol. 48 Issue 5, p79 

    Reports on various awards given to physicists as of May 1995. Includes Irwin J. Shapiro; Nick Holonyak Jr.; Victor V. Vacquier; Julian D. Cole.

  • President announces winners of national medals.  // Physics Today;Jul97, Vol. 50 Issue 7, p75 

    Presents information about the physicists who are recipients of the 1997 National Medal of Science and winners of the 1997 National Medal of Technology. Occupation of the recipients; Achievements and contributions of the recipients to physics and science.

  • Three Honored at `Physics without borders' gathering.  // Physics Today;Jul97, Vol. 50 Issue 7, p76 

    Focuses on physicists who are the recipient of the 1997 Outstanding Young researcher award from the Association of Korean Physicists in America and Overseas Chinese Physics Association. Achievements of the recipients.

  • AAPM Honors Achievements in Medical Physics.  // Physics Today;Sep99, Vol. 52 Issue 9, p71 

    Reports on the 1999 award winners announced by the American Association of Physicists in Medicine at its July 1999 annual meeting for achievements in medical physics. Faiz M. Khan of the University of Minnesota's Medical School in Minneapolis; Rebecca Fahrig of the J.P. Robarts Research...


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics