Newbery and Caldecott medals

March 1993
Emergency Librarian;Mar/Apr93, Vol. 20 Issue 4, p70
Presents the 1993 recipients of the John Newbery and Randolph Caldecott Medals, awards for children's literature. Cynthia Rylant and Emily Arnold McCully; Announcement of other awards by the Association for Library Service to Children.


Related Articles

  • Promoting Newbery Winners.  // School Library Journal;Nov83, Vol. 30 Issue 3, p2 

    Editorial. Comments on the awarding of the Newbery and Caldecott medals to the best children's books in the United States in 1983. Criticisms against the selection process for the awards; Benefits of the awards to librarians and children who use libraries.

  • Newbery & Caldecott awards.  // Emergency Librarian;Mar/Apr97, Vol. 24 Issue 4, p16 

    Presents the 1997 Newbery and Caldecott Awards. List of honor book authors; List of honor book illustrators.

  • Books for young readers Garner awards. L.S.W. // Christian Science Monitor;2/24/95, Vol. 87 Issue 62, p14 

    Lists the winners of the Newbery and Caldecott Medals in various categories given by the American Library Association.

  • The Dog-Eared Page.  // Children & Libraries: The Journal of the Association for Library;Spring2011, Vol. 9 Issue 1, p2 

    A quiz concerning Newbery/Caldecott is presented.

  • Houghton Mifflin sweeps Newbery, Caldecott awards.  // Publishers Weekly;2/14/1994, Vol. 241 Issue 7, p9 

    Reports on the recipients of 1994 John Newbery Medal and 1994 Randolph Caldecott Medal given annually by the Association for Library Services. Lois Lowry's `The Giver' for the John Newbery medal; Allen Say's `Grandfather's Journey' for the Randolph Caldecott medal; Publisher of the...

  • Letters to the Editor. Lankford, Mary D. // Horn Book Magazine;Sep/Oct2013, Vol. 89 Issue 5, p4 

    A letter to the editor from a retired school librarian is presented on the Newbery and Caldecott literary awards, in response to the July/August 2013 issue.

  • Dillons Win Caldecott Medal: Newberry Goes to Mildred Taylor.  // School Library Journal;Mar77, Vol. 23 Issue 7, p65 

    Reports on the winners of Newbery and Caldecott awards in the United States for the year 1977. Selection of Leo and Diane Dillon as winners of the Caldecott Medal for their illustrations in 'Ashanti to Zulu: African Traditions,' by Margaret Musgrove; Selection of Mildred Taylor as winner of the...

  • Newbery and Caldecott Medal winners for 1997.  // American Libraries;Mar97, Vol. 28 Issue 3, p8 

    Presents the winners of the 1997 Newbery and Caldecott Medals for children's books. E.L. (Elaine) Konigsburg's `The View from Saturday' as the Newbery winner for the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children published in 1996; David Wisniewski, illustrator of the...

  • 1991 Newbery and Caldecott medals.  // Emergency Librarian;Sept/Oct91, Vol. 19 Issue 1, p68 

    Presents winners of the 1991 John Newbery and Randolph Caldecott Medals, two of the most prestigious awards in children's literature. The winning books; Categories of the award.


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics