Journalist receives first European Religion award

October 1995
Christian Science Monitor;10/2/95, Vol. 87 Issue 215, p12
Informs about the journalist Andrew Brown who has been named 1994 John Templeton European Religion Writer of the year by the Templeton Foundation in Geneva for the first time for excellence, enterprise, and versatility in reporting religion in secular press. A front page news story on the controversial British politician Enoch Powell's book on St. Mathew's Gospel.


Related Articles

  • Templeton prize.  // Christian Century;3/22/89 - 3/29/89, Vol. 106 Issue 10, p306 

    The 1989 Templeton Prize for Progress in Religion has been awarded to Scottish churchman George MacLeod and West German physicist Carl Friedrich von Weizsaecker.

  • Templeton awards.  // Christian Century;4/4/90, Vol. 107 Issue 11, p330 

    Covers the awarding of the 1990 Templeton Prize for Progress in Religion. Recipients; Value of the award.

  • Biochemist-theologian unites Darwin and divinity. Myers, Rebecca // Christian Science Monitor;3/9/2001, Vol. 93 Issue 72, p7 

    Reports on the winning of the Templeton Prize for Progress in Religion by biochemist and ordained priest Arthur Peacocke.

  • Paul Davies.  // U.S. News & World Report;3/20/95, Vol. 118 Issue 11, p24 

    Focuses on Paul Davies, an Australian physicist who won the $1 million Templeton Prize for Progress in Religion for breaching the barrier between religion and science. His comment on the use of the word `God'; More.

  • Mammon helps finance the quest for God. Woodard, Joe // Alberta Report / Newsmagazine;9/09/96, Vol. 23 Issue 39, p36 

    Highlights the Templeton Foundation's effort to encourage the bringing together of science and religion. Sir John Templeton, its founder; The Templeton Prize for Progress in Religion; When it was first awarded; How much it is worth; Past recipients, including Mother Teresa, Alexander...

  • Bright wins religion award.  // Christianity Today;4/8/96, Vol. 40 Issue 4, p91 

    Reports that Campus Crusade for Christ International founder and president, Bill Bright is the 1996 winner of the Templeton Prize for Progress in Religion. Background of career.

  • Dead Man Walking wins movie prize.  // Christianity Today;4/8/96, Vol. 40 Issue 4, p93 

    Reports that the motion picture `Dead Man Walking,' starring Sean Penn and Susan Sarandon won the $25,000 Templeton Prize. Award for inspiring `a greater love for and understanding of God'.

  • Templeton prize goes to Hindu activist.  // Christian Century;03/19/97-3/27/97, Vol. 114 Issue 10, p290 

    Reports that Indian Hindu activist Pandurang Shastri Athavale received the 1997 Templeton Prize for Progress in Religion. Amount of cash prize; Lesson taught by Athavale; Other Templeton winners.

  • Noted physicist wins Templeton Prize.  // Christian Century;04/19/2000, Vol. 117 Issue 13, p453 

    Reports that Freeman J. Dyson, an eminent physicist and critic of the growing technological divide between rich and poor, has won the 2000 Templeton Prize for Progress in Religion. Value of the check that is included in the award; Why was Dyson chosen for the award; Comments from Dyson.


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics