To catch a rising star

December 2002
New Scientist;12/7/2002, Vol. 176 Issue 2372, p32
Focuses on neutrinos. Number of Nobel prizes for Physics won by scientists studying neutrinos; Function performed by neutrinos; Difficulty faced by scientists in capturing and studying neutrinos.


Related Articles

  • NEUTRINO GOLD.  // Discover;Sep2014, Vol. 35 Issue 7, p37 

    The article presents the three instances when the Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded for the study of neutrinos, including to Leon Lederman, Melvin Schwartz and Jack Steinberger in 1988, Frederick Reines in 1995, and Ray Davis and Masatoshi Koshiba in 2002.

  • search & discovery.  // Physics Today;Dec78, Vol. 31 Issue 12, p17 

    Presents an update on research and discoveries related to physics as of December 1978. Winners of the 1978 Nobel prize in physics; News on the solar-neutrino flux.

  • Giant photodetector arrays underpin Nobel success.  // Nature Photonics;Nov2015, Vol. 9 Issue 11, p703 

    The article discusses the 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics, announced on October 6, 2015, which was shared between Takaaki Kajita from the University of Tokyo in Japan and Arthur McDonald from Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario for the discovery of neutrino oscillations, which shows that...

  • GHOSTLY PARTICLES ALL ABOUT. White II, James C. // Mercury;Jan/Feb2006, Vol. 35 Issue 1, p12 

    The article provides information on the work of scientist Wolfgang Pauli on neutrinos. In 1930, Pauli saw an answer to the question of radioactive decay. Pauli was later awarded the Nobel Prize in physics for his thoughts about how nature controls its matter. What Pauli had predicted was a...

  • Physics Nobel Prize honors the discovery of neutrino flavor oscillations. Miller, Johanna // Physics Today;Dec2015, Vol. 68 Issue 12, p16 

    The article announces that physicists Takaaki Kajita and Arthur McDonald have been awarded the 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics for their work on neutrinos.

  • PHYSICS NOBEL PRIZE TO LEDERMAN, SCHWARTZ AND STEINBERGER. Schwarzschild, Bertram // Physics Today;Jan89, Vol. 42 Issue 1, p17 

    This article reports on the awarding of the 1988 Nobel Prize in Physics to physics professors Leon Lederman, Melvin Schwartz and Jack Steinberger, as of January 1989. The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded them jointly the prize for the neutrino-beam method and the demonstration of the...

  • The 1999 Nobel Prizes.  // World Almanac & Book of Facts;2000, p68 

    No abstract available.

  • Nobel Prize for UN peace-keepers accepted in Oslo.  // United Nations Chronicle;Mar89, Vol. 26 Issue 1, p30 

    Reports on the presentation of the 1988 Nobel Peace Prize to UN Secretary-General Javier Perez de Cuellar on behalf of the UN peace-keeping forces, on December 10, 1988 in Oslo. Peace-keeping principles.

  • The Alfred B. Nobel Prize Winners: Peace.  // World Almanac & Book of Facts;2000, p676 

    No abstract available.


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics