June 2011
Canadian Screenwriter;Summer2011, Vol. 13 Issue 3, p41
The article offers news briefs in the screenwriting industry. The documentary film "How to Boil a Frog," by Jon Cooksey was chosen for 10 festivals like that in New Zealand, Spain and Poland. Tihemme Gagnon's "The Last Gate" captured the Gold award at the 2010 PAGE International Screenwriting Awards. A feature screenplay for the supernatural thriller "Last Wolf of Ireland" is being written by Diane Barness.


Related Articles

  • UCLA EXTENDS SCRIPT PRIZES. Saperstein, Patricla // Daily Variety;6/22/2001, Vol. 272 Issue 15, p45 

    Reports on the recipients of prizes at the 2001 Diane Thomas Screenwriting Awards in Los Angeles, California.

  • 'Super' scribe wins IFP laurel. Ross, Matthew M. // Daily Variety;10/9/2001, Vol. 273 Issue 27, p5 

    Reports the presentation of the Independent Feature Project annual Pipedream screenwriting prize to Yaphet L. Smith for the script 'The Supermarvelous' in New York.

  • How to Boil a Frog. Owens, Patricia Ann // School Library Journal;Jun2012, Vol. 58 Issue 6, p54 

    The article reviews the DVD release of the documentary film "How to Boil a Frog," starring Jon Cooksey.

  • With only two wins in 50 years, family movies face uphill battle for Oscar gold. Kamin, Debra // Daily Variety;2/3/2011, Vol. 310 Issue 24, pA1 

    The article reports on the uphill battle facing family movies to win a screenplay Oscar since only two family films which include "Father Goose" and "Breaking Away" have taken the gold for screenwriting in the U.S.

  • SCREENWRITER & BREAKTHROUGH DIRECTOR: JOHN PATRICK SHANLEY. Hofler, Robert // Daily Variety;10/27/2008, Vol. 301 Issue 16, pA8 

    The article announces that John Patrick Shanley was awarded the Screen Writer and Breakthrough Director award at the 12th annual Hollywood Film festival.

  • BREAKTHROUGH SCREENWRITER: DUSTIN LANCE BLACK. Cohen, David S. // Daily Variety;10/27/2008, Vol. 301 Issue 16, pA8 

    The article announces that Dustin Lance Black was awarded the Breakthrough Screenwriter award at the 12th annual Hollywood Film Festival.

  • Basic instinct. Weddle, David // Daily Variety;2/18/2004, Vol. 282 Issue 38, pA1 

    Reports on the nominees for the Writers Guild of America (WGA) awards. Philippa Boyens for the film "The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King"; Jim Sheridan for the film "In America"; Difference of the WGA from other award giving bodies in determining the winner.

  • Year of the auteur. Weddle, David // Daily Variety;2/18/2004, Vol. 282 Issue 38, pA2 

    Reports that most of the nominees for 2004 Writers Guild of America awards for film are by writer-directors. Reason why writer-directors produce better films; Advantage of having a director who is also the screenwriter; Claim that the assembly line approach in producing a film does not work all...

  • AMPAS TAPS NICHOLL FINALISTS. Feiwell, Jill // Daily Variety;10/18/2001, Vol. 273 Issue 34, p2 

    Reports the finalists for the 2001 Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in screenwriting chosen by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Sean P. Bridges; Greg M. Dawless; Robert S. Edwards; Danelle Y. Hand; Eric J. Litra.


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics