TITLE

Mystery & Detective Helps Fiction Top Again in 2010

PUB. DATE
February 2011
SOURCE
Book Publishing Report;Feb2011 Supplement, Vol. 36, p1
SOURCE TYPE
Trade Publication
DOC. TYPE
Article
ABSTRACT
The article reports on the role of mystery and detective stories in helping fiction category top again in the U.S. in 2010. It says that data showed that paperback's share of the top 40 titles increased in the said year, fiction accounted for eight of the top 10 books of the year while mystery and detective books took the top position among all categories. It notes that the switch from edition- to title-based analysis for the top titles is considered as an important change for the 2010 report.
ACCESSION #
60618603

 

Related Articles

  • Dispatches from the Edge. Adjarian, M. M. // Library Journal;4/15/2011, Vol. 136 Issue 7, p32 

    The article considers detective and mystery stories to be published in the U.S. in the summer and fall of 2011. A trend is considered in which many such stories as well as suspense fiction present plots which are macabre and psychologically disturbing. Historical detective and mystery stories...

  • SUMMER BOOK ISSUE: Murder, Mystery and Private Eyes, The Sordid Truth. Winks, Robin // New Republic;7/26/75, Vol. 173 Issue 4, p21 

    Profiles Donald Hamilton, author of paperback mystery and detective novels. Matt Helm as Hamilton's series figure; Anthony Boucher's view that Hamilton is a master of indirect exposition and a writer in the tradition of Peter Cheyney's "Dark" series; Author's view that Hamilton's books are for...

  • Key Witness. Benjamin, David A. // New Republic;7/26/75, Vol. 173 Issue 4, p28 

    Profiles John D. MacDonald, author of paperback mystery and detective novels. Number of novels and magazine short stories written at the age of 46; Travis McGee as MacDonald's main protagonist; Elements of a hero in McGee, a rebel with many causes; Basic plot of a McGee adventure, which usually...

  • Peril in Paperback: A Bibliophile Mystery.  // Publishers Weekly;6/18/2012, Vol. 259 Issue 25, p39 

    The article reviews the book "Peril in Paperback" by Kate Carlisle, part of the Bibliophile mystery book series.

  • Evil Plots. Grella, George // New Republic;7/26/75, Vol. 173 Issue 4, p24 

    Profiles Ross Macdonald, author of paperback mystery and detective novels. Author's view that Macdonald is the most distinguished living practitioner of "hard-boiled" detective fiction; Successor to Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler; Private eye Lew Archer as protagonist of Macdonald's...

  • Crime Travels. Chadwick, Kristi // Library Journal;4/15/2012, Vol. 137 Issue 7, p24 

    The article discusses trends in the literary genre of mystery and suspense. The author notes that detective stories by foreign writers are in vogue in the U.S. following the popularity of the "Millennium" books by Stieg Larsson. Examples discussed include Liza Marklund of Sweden, Roberto Ampuero...

  • Simmons Analysis: Checking Up on Paperbacks.  // Book Publishing Report;Apr2010, Vol. 35 Issue 4, p1 

    The article focuses on the sales of paperback books in the U.S. and notes that 9% of the adult population in 2009 bought an electronic book (e-book), 57.3% of adult book buyers bought at least one book, and the biggest group of buyers of paperbacks is the 1-5 group.

  • Detective's Notebook. Miller, Marvin // Boys' Life;Aug2003, Vol. 93 Issue 8, p13 

    Presents a mystery story.

  • WHODUNIT? WHO CARES? Dingus, Anne; Walker, Mary Willis // Texas Monthly;Nov2000, Vol. 28 Issue 11, p134 

    Criticizes modern mystery novels. Historical context of the genre; Biggest problem with modern mysteries; Character that exemplifies the unfortunate trend in mystery writing. INSET: I CARE I'm a mystery writer, and I..., by Mary Willis Walker.

Share

Read the Article

Courtesy of VIRGINIA BEACH PUBLIC LIBRARY AND SYSTEM

Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics