Stump the Rules Wizard

October 2010
NCGA Golf;Fall2010, Vol. 30 Issue 4, p33
Question & Answer
The article presents questions and answers related to golf including the penalty on moving ball violation, lateral water hazards and immovable artificial objects as obstruction.


Related Articles

  • How To Handle Awkward Lies.  // Golf Digest;Apr2010, Vol. 61 Issue 4, p70 

    The article offers information on several golf rules. It is stated that, when one's ball is in the water, then one should check the type of hazard in which the ball is. It is stated that, if it is a water hazard marked by yellow stakes or lines, then one can play the ball as it lies without...

  • GD TESTED RED VS. YELLOW. PATTERSON, JEFF // Golf Digest;Dec2008, Vol. 59 Issue 12, p45 

    The article offers information on the difference between a red-staked water hazard and a yellow-staked water hazard in golf. Yellow stakes involves a penalty of one stroke and the golfer can either drop a ball where the golfer last played from, or drop a ball behind the hazard. Red stakes, in...

  • PRIVATE Lessons.  // Golf Magazine;Jan2010, Vol. 52 Issue 1, p101 

    The article discusses instructions and suggestions for playing golf with correct techniques. It informs that during dry weather short shots should be preferred and during rainy and wet day a lofted shot is recommended. It suggests that while playing three putting together, the player should fix...

  • STUMP the Rules Wizards.  // NCGA Golf;Fall2009, Vol. 29 Issue 4, p55 

    The article presents questions and answers related to golf including the need to push down the tuft of grass after lifting the ball marker, the rule of abandoning the second ball if the golfer hits the tee into a maintenance yard, and the need to repair the ball mark if the ball is off the green.

  • Four-Ball Stroke Play Rules. Gregg, Ryan // NCGA Golf;Spring2013, Vol. 33 Issue 2, p64 

    The article offers information on the golf rules for the four-ball stroke-play tournaments that will be launched by the Northern California Golf Association in the year 2015. It reports that both the golfers playing as partner will play with their own ball during the competition. It also...

  • Rules Guy: He won't throw the book at you.  // Golf Magazine;Aug2009, Vol. 51 Issue 8, p33 

    The article presents questions and answers related to golf including, whether it is a score fraud to re-putt from the same spot from where initial putt shot didn't ended in the hole due to the hole liner which was not pushed down, what is the penalty for a player who has played the wrong ball,...

  • Stroke Savers. Mayo, Ashley // Golf Digest;Jun2009, Vol. 60 Issue 6, p56 

    The article offers information on how a golfer can take advantage of golf rules to tackle lower scores. It is stated that, instead of slicing the shot out-of-bounds, when the ground between the tee markers is not level, a golfer can look for a level spot because the teeing area extends two...

  • Stroke Savers. Mayo, Ashley; Kaspriske, Ron; Unruh, Jack // Golf Digest;Jul2009, Vol. 60 Issue 7, p56 

    The article discusses on how to take advantage of rules in golf in situations when there is a need to shoot lower scores. Experts state that when the golfer finds the ball plugged in a hazard and plays the wrong ball to earn a two-stroke penalty, he should have followed rule 12-2, which allows a...

  • Abandonment Issues.  // Golf Digest;Jun2011, Vol. 62 Issue 6, p62 

    The article offers information on the golf rules which a golfer should consider before declaring a ball lost. It is reported that, although a golfer need not search for the original ball before declaring it lost, the ball is not considered lost if anyone finds it before the golfer plays the next...


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics