That Winning American Style 1979 awards continue U.S. domination of the sciences

October 1979
Time;10/29/1979, Vol. 114 Issue 18, p86
The article announces awards given to several persons including the Nobel prize to physicist Tsung Dao Lee, and medicine award to Allan Cormack and Godfrey Hounsfield.


Related Articles

  • Triumph Of The Odd Couple They share a Nobel Prize for pioneering the CAT scanner.  // Time;10/22/1979, Vol. 114 Issue 17, p80 

    The article announces that Allan Cormack, American physicist at Tufts University, and Godfrey Hounsfield, research engineer at EMI Ltd., received the 1979 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

  • ...and Cormack, Hounsfield for medicine. B.M.S. // Physics Today;Dec79, Vol. 32 Issue 12, p19 

    Announces the presentation of the 1979 Nobel Prize for Physiology and Medicine to Allan Cormack and Godfrey Hounsfield respectively. Background on Cormack; Accomplishments of Cormack; Background on Hounsfield; Achievements of Hounsfield.

  • NOBEL PRIZE WINNERS IN PHYSIOLOGY AND MEDICINE. Robert, Mulcahy // Diseases: Finding the Cure;1996, p126 

    This section presents a list of people who won the Nobel Prize in physiology and medicine from 1901 to 1996. Emil A. von Behring won in 1901 for his serum therapy against diphteria. In 1966, the recipients were Charles Brenton Huggins--treatment of prostate cancer and Francis Peyton...

  • Prof. T.D. Lee and Prof. C.N. Yang Receive the Marcel Grossmann Award.  // AAPPS Bulletin;Jun2015, Vol. 25 Issue 3, p52 

    The article discusses the Marcel Grossmann Award Ceremony at International Conference on Gravitation and Cosmology/Fourth GalileoXu Guangqi Meeting was held at the Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics, China (KITPC) at the Chinese Academy of Sciences, with T.D. Lee and C.N. Yang winning.

  • The Big Money.  // Time;11/11/1957, Vol. 70 Issue 20, p51 

    The article announces awards given to scientists which include the Nobel Prize in physics to Chen Ning Yang and Tsung Dao Lee, the Nobel Prize in chemistry to Alexander Todd, and the Enrico Fermi Award to Ernest Orlando Lawrence.

  • Eight medical leaders inducted into the Hall of Fame.  // CMAJ: Canadian Medical Association Journal;06/01/97, Vol. 156 Issue 11, p1526 

    Lists the physicians inducted into the 1997 Canadian Medical Hall of Fame. Charles Beer; Wilfred Bigelow; Pierre Masson; Brenda Milner; Wilfred Grenfell; Louis Siminovitch; Robert Noble.

  • Nashville Doctors Named Finalists for Internist of the Year.  // Tennessee Tribune;11/8/2012, Vol. 23 Issue 45, p7B 

    The article informs that several doctors from Nashville, Tennessee, have been nominated for 2012 Internist of the Year and it also mentions that one of these finalists will receive the F. Tremaine Billings Internist of the Year award at an event on November 14, 2012, in Nashville, Tennessee.

  • Trumpet Awards sound for Churchwells.  // Tennessee Tribune;2/3/2011, Vol. 22 Issue 5, p12B 

    The article reports on the recognition of medical doctors Keith, Andre and Kevin Churchwell at the Trumpet Awards in Tennessee.

  • Class acts.  // Modern Physician;Nov2000, Vol. 4 Issue 11, p38 

    Presents the awardees of the `Modern Physician' 2000 Physician Executive Award of Excellence. Contributions of the awardees to medical practice; Jean Wright, vice president of medical management at Children's Healthcare of Atlanta; Scott Young, executive vice president of Saint Mark's Health...


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics