Optical Society creates new award for Max Born centennial

January 1983
Physics Today;Jan83, Vol. 36 Issue 1, p91
Academic Journal
Reports on the presentation of the first Max Born Award to physics professor Leonard Mandel by the Optical Society of America in 1982. Background information on the award; Reason for choosing Mandel for the award; His educational and career background.


Related Articles

  • In brief.  // Physics Today;Nov97, Vol. 50 Issue 11, p83 

    Presents updates about several physicists. Resignation of Boris W. Batterman as the director of the Cornell High Energy Synchrotron Source (CHESS) at Cornell University; Scientist Syukuro Manabe and professor Veerabhdran Ramanathan as the recipients of the 1997 Volvo Environment Prize;...

  • AAPT Presents First Klopsteg Award to Hansma.  // Physics Today;Oct91, Vol. 44 Issue 10, p104 

    This article reports on the first Paul E. Klopsteg Award of the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) which has been presented in 1991 to Paul K. Hansma, a professor of physics at the University of California, Santa Barbara. The annual award was funded through donations Klopsteg had...

  • AAPT honors four at summer meeting in College Park.  // Physics Today;Dec96, Vol. 49 Issue 12, p73 

    Presents information on individuals honored at the summer meeting of the American Association of Physics Teachers, held in College Park, Maryland. Information on awards given out.

  • AAPT Awards Presented at Winter Meeting.  // Physics Today;Jul99, Vol. 52 Issue 7, p67 

    Lists individuals who were honored at the 1999 winter meeting of the American Association of Physics Teachers held in Anaheim, California. David L. Goodstein; Wayne H. Knox; Lisa Grable; Robert Hilborn.

  • IN BRIEF.  // Physics Today;Aug2000, Vol. 53 Issue 8, p62 

    Provides news briefs about physics institution employees in the United States as of August 2000. Award presented to David J. Gross, director of the Institute for Theoretical Physics at the University of California in Santa Barbara; Appointment of James C. White II as executive director of the...

  • Marvin L. Cohen to receive 2014 Von Hippel Award for modeling of materials and nanoscale structures.  // MRS Bulletin;Oct2014, Vol. 39 Issue 10, p895 

    The article announces that Marvin L. Cohen, professor of physics at University of California-Berkeley, will be awarded the 2014 Von Hippel Award from the Materials Research Society (MRS).

  • Irwin Talesnick Award.  // Update of the Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation;2015/2016, Vol. 43 Issue 2, p7 

    The article announces that physics teacher James Ball has received the Irwin Talesnick award from Science Teachers' Association of Ontario (STAO) in 2015.

  • Kent State Prof. Honored by Akron Council of Engineering.  // India -- West;12/13/2013, Vol. 39 Issue 4, pA30 

    The article announces that physics professor Satyendra Kumar of Kent State University has received the Distinguished Award of Council from the Akron Council of Engineering and Scientific Societies for his contributions to engineering.

  • Townes wins first Earle K. Plyler Prize.  // Physics Today;Mar77, Vol. 30 Issue 3, p77 

    Announces the victory of Charles H. Townes, a university professor of physics at the University of California, in winning the Earle K. Plyler Prize of the American Physical Society. Details on the prize; Academic achievements of Townes; Information on Townes' scientific works.


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics