Hering, Jim
September 2009
American Rose;Sep/Oct2009, Vol. 40 Issue 5, p44
The article presents the 2009 Miniature/Mini-Flora Rose Hall of Fame honorees named during the National Miniature Conference held in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania on July 18, 2009. The honorees include the Gourmet Popcorn discovered by Luis Desamero and introduced by Wee Ones Miniature Roses in 1986, the Luis Desamero hybridized by Dee Bennett and introduced by Tiny Petals Nursery in 1988 and the Tiffany Lynn hybridized by Nelson Jolly and introduced by Rosehill Farm in 1985.


Related Articles

  • A Lifelong Passion for Miniature Roses. Desamero, Luis T. // American Rose;Aug/Sep2007, Vol. 39 Issue 8, p40 

    The article announces that Luis Desamero has received the 2007 Klima Medal for Excellence in Rose Education from the American Rose Society (ARS).

  • Gold Honor Medal. Adams, Jolene // American Rose;Jan/Feb2014, Vol. 42 Issue 7, p8 

    The article announces that American Rose Society member Luis Desamero received the Gold Honor Medal for 2013 from the organization.

  • New Additions to MINIATURE ROSE HALL OF FAME. Hering, Jim // American Rose;Sep2005, Vol. 38 Issue 9, p29 

    Presents information on new members of the Miniature Rose Hall of Fame announced by the American Rose Society in July 2005. Jean Kenneally, hybridized by Dee Bennett; Rainbow's End, hybridized by Harm Saville.

  • DR. THOMAS CAIRNS & LUIS DESAMERO RECEIVE 2008 GUY BLAKE HEDRICK JR. AWARD. Plasz, Andrew // American Rose;Sep/Oct2008, Vol. 39 Issue 15, p35 

    The article features Thomas Cairns and Luis Desamero of Studio City, Los Angeles, California who received the Guy Blake Hedrick Jr. Award from the American Rose Society (ARS). The award recognizes outstanding rose exhibitors. It enumerates the awards won by Cairns and Desamero as rose...

  • 2006 Honorees MINIATURE ROSE HALL OF FAME. Hering, Jim // American Rose;Oct2006, Vol. 38 Issue 22, p17 

    The article highlights the new awards program for miniature roses called the ARS Miniature Rose Hall of Fame, established in 1998 by the American Rose Society (ARS). The purpose of the award is cited. The task of the ARS Miniature/Mini-Flora Rose Committee is outlined. Two new members of the...

  • AWARD OF EXCELLENCE WINNERS. Hering, Jim // American Rose;Oct2006, Vol. 38 Issue 22, p15 

    The article provides information on the Award of Excellence (AOE), also known as the Royal E, a designation of merit given to new miniature and Mini-Flora rose varieties of superior quality and marked distinction as determined by their performance in official test gardens. It highlights the...

  • 'Hot Tamale' and 'X-Rated' Elected to Miniature & Miniflora Rose Hall of Fame. Hering, Jim // American Rose;Sep/Oct2012, Vol. 41 Issue 11, p64 

    The article announces that Hot Tamale yellow-blend miniature hybridized by Keith Zary and X-Rated pink-blend miniature by Dee Bennett were inducted into the 2012 Miniature and Miniflora Rose Hall of Fame at the 14th American Rose Society (ARS) National Miniature Conference.

  • THE NAMING OF ROSES. Cohen, Carole // American Rose;Oct2004, Vol. 37 Issue 22, p26 

    Presents information on name designation to hybrid roses. Characteristics of names of the earliest roses; Use of colloquial and contemporary names for hybrid roses in the U.S.; Names for miniature roses; Differences of rose names in Europe and the U.S.

  • 2010 AWARD OR EXCELLENCE WINNERS. Hering, Jim // American Rose;Sep/Oct2009, Vol. 40 Issue 5, p40 

    The article presents the Award of Excellence (AOE) given to new miniature and Mini-Flora rose varieties that are distinctively superior established by the American Rose Society Board of Directors. Entries of unnamed seedlings or sports of miniature mini-flora varieties are given by hybridizers...


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics