Rethinking Postwar History: Munich's Musica Viva during the Karl Amadeus Hartmann Years (1945 -63)

Rothe, Alexander
June 2007
Musical Quarterly;Summer2007, Vol. 90 Issue 2, p230
Academic Journal
The article focuses on the goals and history of the Musica Viva concert series in Munich, Germany during the years of Karl Amadeus Hartmann. It investigates the concert series' context within the politics during postwar American occupation in Germany, as well as its role in the radio scene, which began to flourish during that time. It also discusses the relationship of the Musica Viva to the Weimar Republic (or Germany) past and to contemporary music centers during that time. Critical receptions received by the Musica Viva concert series in contemporary periodicals are also discussed.


Related Articles

  • Great Mass. LAURSON, JENS // American Record Guide;Jul/Aug2010, Vol. 73 Issue 4, p28 

    The article reviews a concert featuring works composed by Walter Braunfels, performed by K. A. Hartmann and Boris Blacher at the Liederhalle in Stuttgart, Germany in April 2010.

  • String Quartets Nos. 1 & 2; String Quartet Op.73 (Music).  // Music Week;3/6/2004, Issue 9, p12 

    Features the classical music recording "String Quartet Nos. 1 & 2," by Karl Amadeus Hartmann and Eisler.

  • Reviews: Festivals, concerts, CDs, music, books, etc. Stowell, Robin // Strad;Jul96, Vol. 107 Issue 1275, p745 

    Reviews the compact disc recording of Karl Amadeus Hartmann's Work for Solo Violin by Ingolf Turban.

  • THE SPECIALIST'S GUIDE TO... Karl Amadeus Hartmann. Clark, Philip // Gramophone;Apr2013, Vol. 90 Issue 1095, p100 

    The article profiles composer Karl Amadeus Hartmann who founded the Musica Viva concert series to champion music.

  • Symphonies (6). KILPATRICK // American Record Guide;Nov/Dec2011, Vol. 74 Issue 6, p105 

    The article reviews the music release featuring the works of Karl Amadeus Hartmann, performed by the Bamberg Symphony, conducted by Ingo Metzmacher.

  • Guide to records. McKelvey // American Record Guide;Jul/Aug94, Vol. 57 Issue 4, p110 

    Reviews the music recordings `Symphony 2,' `Sodom and Gomorrah,' and `Sinfonia Tragica,' by Karl Amadeus Hartmann. Modern sound and structure; Use of large collection of percussion instruments.

  • Harp Suite No. 1. Harp Suite No. 2. Lyric Phrases. In Honor of the Divine Mr. Handel: See J. L. ADAMS/Concerto funebre/Unfinished Violin Sonata. Maxham, Robert // Fanfare: The Magazine for Serious Record Collectors;Jan/Feb2016, Vol. 39 Issue 3, p287 

    No abstract available.

  • Guide to records. Lehman // American Record Guide;May/Jun96, Vol. 59 Issue 3, p121 

    Reviews an album which features violin music and symphonies written by Karl Amadeus Hartmann. Featured musicians; Profile on the composer and his work; Performance and sound quality.

  • Guide to records. Raymond // American Record Guide;Mar/Apr96, Vol. 59 Issue 2, p121 

    Reviews a music recording featuring Karl Amadeus Hartmann's `Simplicius Simplicissimus,' performed by Helen Donath, Eberhard Buchner and others.


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics