TITLE

In confidence

AUTHOR(S)
Scott, Anna
PUB. DATE
February 2007
SOURCE
People Management;2/22/2007, Vol. 13 Issue 4, p17
SOURCE TYPE
Periodical
DOC. TYPE
Article
ABSTRACT
The article reports on the launch of the Quality Award scheme from the European Mentoring and Coaching Council (EMCC). The scheme provides accreditations of coaching qualifications providers and organizations' in-house coaching departments. The categories of the scheme are foundation, intermediate, practitioner and master. Basic core competencies expected of training courses are outlined in the competency framework and standards.
ACCESSION #
24587032

 

Related Articles

  • MESSAGE FROM THE EDITOR. Loudon, Jo // Training & Development (1839-8561);Oct2015, Vol. 42 Issue 5, p5 

    An introduction is presented in which the editor discusses various reports within the issue including the characteristics of a good coach, indigenous coaching, and mentoring.

  • A Framework for Mentoring Beginning Teachers in Hong Kong. Shun Wing Ng // International Proceedings of Economics Development & Research;2012, Vol. 47, p115 

    This paper introduces a framework for providing beginning teachers with induction and mentoring support. The policy being put into practice in Hong Kong is adopted as a vehicle for facilitating beginning teachers' first year teaching and learning in a school specific context so as to ensure...

  • Secrets to Attracting a Mentor. Holmes, Tamara E. // Essence (Time Inc.);Oct2006, Vol. 37 Issue 6, p118 

    The article offers tips on attracting the attention of a potential mentor at work. Being knowledgeable about one's specific role in the organization is not enough. One need to know about other initiatives the company is involved with and be ready to talk about them. Good communication skills are...

  • Keeping North Carolina the world leader in biotechnology training.  // Business North Carolina;Jun2007, Vol. 27 Issue 6, Special section p8 

    The article reports on the BioNetwork, a biotechnology initiative developed by the North Carolina (N.C.) Community College System. The initiative was used in Singapore, Northern Ireland, Illinois, and Montana as a model for transforming their work forces to meet the demands of 21st-century,...

  • CORE COMPETENCY SURVEY RESULTS AVAILABLE ON LINE.  // Dental Assistant;May/Jun2005, Vol. 74 Issue 3, p39 

    Reports on the availability of the core competency survey results at the American Dental Assistants Association's Web site. Overview of the findings; Significance of the results to the dental society.

  • Coaching for success: Energizing and empowering staff and volunteers. S├ínchez, Margaret A. // Bar Leader;Jul/Aug2009, Vol. 33 Issue 6, p13 

    The article focuses on coaching as an important part of the repertoire of an effective leader. Among the abilities involved in coaching are providing counsel and guidance and harnessing the skills, experience, and passion of others in pursuit of organization goals. It is noted that the most...

  • Coaching for exceptional performance: top leadership team and direct reports. Atkinson, Philip E. // Operations Management (1755-1501);2012, Vol. 38 Issue 1, p12 

    The article offers the author's insights on the key issues and roles played by manager, a leader, and an outstanding executive coach. The author states that a subset of competencies and core skills are required in each of the roles. The author says that coaching requires skills and involves...

  • The Keys to the Emerald City. Green, Thomas A. // Pest Management Professional;May2008, Vol. 76 Issue 5, p20 

    The article presents an outline on how to develop an efficient training program in accordance to the green movement in the U.S. The techniques include setting quality as a first priority, focusing on green as part of an integrated pest management initiative, capability to discuss and explain...

  • Building Your Personal Brand. Trunk, Penelope // California Job Journal;2/8/2009, Vol. 27 Issue 1171, p5 

    The author focuses on building oneself as a brand, in the tradition of Nike and Apple, to attain career success. It states that the keys to personal branding are knowing one's core competence and mastering it, making people aware of one's expertise, and surrounding oneself with people who shares...

Share

Read the Article

Courtesy of THE LIBRARY OF VIRGINIA

Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics