Innovation Pays Off

March 2006
ASEE Prism;Mar2006, Vol. 15 Issue 7, p17
The article announces the 500,000 dollar Bernard M. Gordon Prize awarded to five educators for creating the Learning Factory. The awardees are John Lamancusa, professor at Penn State and director of the Learning Factory, Jens E. Jorgensen professor emeritus of mechanical engineering at the University of Washington, Lueny Morell, director of university relations for Latin America at Hewlett-Packard, Allen L. Soyster, dean of the College of Engineering at Northeastern University, and Jose L. Zayas-Castro, professor and chair of industrial and management systems engineering at the University of South Florida.


Related Articles

  • HP's Lueny Morell and Prof. José Zayas Castro Awarded NAE's $500,000 Prize. Martínez, Marialba // Caribbean Business;1/12/2006, Vol. 34 Issue 1, p10 

    The article presents recipients of the National Academy of Engineering's 2006 Bernard M. Gordon award, Lueny Morell, director of University Relations for Latin America of Hewlett-Packard Corp., and José Zayas Castro, professor and chair of the University of South Florida. Each prize recipient...

  • CANDIDATES FOR: PRESIDENT-ELECT.  // Industrial Engineer: IE;Dec2003, Vol. 35 Issue 12, p54 

    Presents the views of Louis A. Martin-Vega and Allen L. Soyster, candidates for president-elect for the U.S.-based Institute of Industrial Engineers (IE), on the challenges facing IE. Enhancement of the stature of the profession at local, national and international levels; Improvement of the...

  • Focus.  // Industrial Management;Nov/Dec2003, Vol. 45 Issue 6, p52 

    Interviews several candidates for the national Board of Trustees at the Institute of Industrial Engineers for the year 2004 to 2005, on the challenges facing industrial engineers. Allen L. Soyster; Jessica O. Matson; James R. Wilson.

  • 2004 ASEE NATIONAL AND SOCIETY AWARDS.  // ASEE Prism;Sep2004, Vol. 14 Issue 1, p60 

    Presents information on the winners of the 2004 American Society for Engineering Education National and Society Awards. Stephen W. Director, dean of engineering at University of Michigan; John S. Lamancusa, professor of mechanical engineering at Pennsylvania State University; Stephanie Farrell,...

  • PIERCING IT ALL TOGETHER. Shallcross, Lynne // ASEE Prism;Nov2006, Vol. 16 Issue 3, p40 

    The article focuses on the development of the Learning Factory program for engineering students in the U.S. headed by Penn State mechanical engineering professor John Lamancusa. The program aims to give engineering students a taste of the real world of engineering where they get to handle real...

  • LUENY MORELL PROMOTES ALLIANCES BETWEEN HP AND LATIN AMERICAN INSTITUTIONS.  // Leadership: Magazine for Managers;set2008, Vol. 5 Issue 15, p8 

    An interview with Lueny Morell, director of University Relations for Latin America, is presented. When asked about the reason behind the decision of Hewlett Packard (HP) to develop the University Relations Program, she mentions how HP gives importance to universities. She identifies the factors...

  • ASEE Board of Directors 2006 Election Results.  // ASEE Prism;May2006, Vol. 15 Issue 9, p61 

    The article offers information on the 2006 election results for the American Society for Engineering Education Board of Directors. The members of the organization have elected James L. Melsa, the dean emeritus of the College of Engineering at Iowa State, as the organization president for the...

  • 2006 NOMINATIONS FOR ASEE OFFICERS.  // ASEE Prism;Dec2005, Vol. 15 Issue 4, p50 

    The presents information on the candidates selected for offices to be voted on in the 2006 American Society Engineering Education (ASEE) elections. These candidates were selected by the 2005 ASEE Nominating Committee, which is chaired by Duane L. Abata. Frank M. Croft, associate professor in the...

  • Nominations Sought for Engineering Education Award.  // SWE Magazine;Winter2003, Vol. 49 Issue 1, p74 

    The article reports on the Engineering Education Excellence Award to be given by the National Society of Professional Engineers in Education practice division and the Sustaining University Program. The award is intended to recognize an engineering faculty member who has demonstrated the ability...


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics