TITLE

MUMBLING WILL BE TOLERATED

AUTHOR(S)
Neuhaus, Richard John
PUB. DATE
April 1994
SOURCE
First Things: A Monthly Journal of Religion & Public Life;Apr1994, Issue 42, p59
SOURCE TYPE
Periodical
DOC. TYPE
Article
ABSTRACT
Presents information on the two books of Friedrich Nietzsche. "The Gay Science"; "Thus Spake Zarathustra."
ACCESSION #
17733083

 

Related Articles

  • Nietzsche's Influence on Bakhtin's Aesthetics of Grotesque Realism. Mazour-Matusevich, Yelena // CLCWeb: Comparative Literature & Culture: A WWWeb Journal;Jun2009, Vol. 11 Issue 2, p1 

    This article discusses Mikhail Bakhtin's concept of grotesque realism as influenced by Friedrich Nietzsche. Nietzsche's idea of chaos and the manner with which it expresses the Dionysian associated with Russian religion. The book "Rabelais and His World," by Bakhtin, is analyzed for Nietzsche's...

  • ANTICHRIST. Rée, Jonathan // New Humanist;Nov/Dec2010, Vol. 125 Issue 6, p28 

    The article offers information related to writer Friedrich Nietzsche. According to the author, Nietzsche was admired not as a vulnerable old philosopher in the tradition of Plato or Kant, but an outrageous and irreconcilable enemy to religion and morality. It highlights several Nietzsche's books...

  • The Oracle Speaks.  // Introducing Nietzsche;2005, p72 

    The article reviews the book "Thus Spake Zarathustra," by Friedrich Nietzsche.

  • Performing Body - Identity. DIPROSE, ROSALYN // Writings on Dance;Summer1994/1995, Issue 11/12, p6 

    In this article the author reflects on his paper on performing or dancing bodies which was presented at the conference titled "Thinking Bodies," held in Melbourne, Victoria in 1993. He explains the meaning of the phrase performing body-identity used by him in the paper which according to him...

  • Nietzschean Considerations on Environment. Del Caro, Adrian // Environmental Ethics;Fall2004, Vol. 26 Issue 3, p307 

    The superhuman (Ãœbermensch) is a human being attuned to his or her environment in such a way that human and environment function as a whole, in keeping with Zarathustra's prophecy that the superhuman is the meaning of the Earth. Nietzsche' s rhetorical embrace of the Earth in Thus Spoke...

  • IS CREATIVITY GOOD? Halper, Edward // British Journal of Aesthetics;Winter89, Vol. 29 Issue 1, p47 

    The article argues that philosopher Friedrich Nietzsche failed to consider the significance of creativity in expressing his views. It contends that Nietzsche, in his book "Thus Spake Zarathustra," defied rational analysis, which makes his position difficult to understand. The author emphasizes...

  • LECTURA Y TRAGEDIA EN ASÍ HABLÓ ZARATUSTRA. Antonio Cifuentes Q., Luis // Universitas Philosophica;jun/dic2003, Vol. 20 Issue 40/41, p181 

    No abstract available.

  • ZARATHUSTRA'S REINCARNATIONS: LITERARY RESPONSES TO NIETZSCHE'S WORK. Ziolkowski, Theodore // Modern Language Review;Jan2012, Vol. 107 Issue 1, p211 

    Despite neglect of Also sprach Zarathustra by early twentieth-century philosophers, Nietzsche's figure enjoyed notable popularity among musicians and artists. At the same time several writers adapted 'Zarathustra' as a mouthpiece for their own generational views: pre-war ambivalence (Reinhard...

  • Nietzsche’s Hidden Trail of Desire. SADOWNICK, DOUGLAS // Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide;Jul/Aug2016, Vol. 23 Issue 4, p12 

    An essay is presented on the homosexuality of German philosopher Friedrich Nietzsche. Topics include the story of Nietzsche contracting syphilis in a heterosexual brothel, his call for a revolutionary transvaluation of values, and Nietzsche's psychedelic philosophical novel titled "Thus Spoke...

Share

Read the Article

Courtesy of VIRGINIA BEACH PUBLIC LIBRARY AND SYSTEM

Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics