Two Niemans honored

Fiore, Lois
December 1998
Nieman Reports;Winter98, Vol. 52 Issue 4, p76
Reports that Nieman Fellows Gustavo Gorriti and Goenawan Mohamad were among the five journalists who received the 1998 Committee to Protect Journalists International Press Freedom Awards. Backgrounds of Gorriti and Mohamad.


Related Articles

  • Editor of the Year persisted online. Moses, Lucia // Editor & Publisher;03/13/99, Vol. 132 Issue 11, p6 

    Features Goenawan Mohamad, editor of the `Tempo' magazine. Background information on the magazine; Award received by Mohamad from New-York based `World Press Review'; Other honorees.

  • Golden Pen of Freedom awarded to journalists killed in the line of duty.  // Indiantelevision.com;6/2/2015, p15 

    The article reports that the World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers has dedicated its 2015 Golden Pen of Freedom annual press freedom award to journalists killed in the line of duty. Topics covered include the 25th World Advertising Forum, the 22nd World Editors Forum and the 67th...

  • Deloitte & Touche Awards.  // Business Quarterly;Autumn91, Vol. 56 Issue 2, p8 

    Features the recipients of the 1990-91 Deloitte & Touche Awards for business journalism. Includes the late Harold Crookel and professor Allen Morrison of the Western Business School for the best article published in `Business Quarterly'; Special Award of Merit for John S. McCallum, chairman of...

  • The Maria Moors Cabot award. Goodsell, James Nelson // North-South: The Magazine of the Americas;Jul/Aug94, Vol. 4 Issue 1, p38 

    Presents the winners of the 1994 Maria Moors Cabot Award. Profile of the winners which include Patricia Verdugo, Edward Seaton, Vicky Sanchez, George Rupp, Pamela Constable and Colin Murray; Selection of winners; Nature and purpose of the award.

  • FOI/Sunshine awards presented.  // Quill;Dec97, Vol. 85 Issue 10, p34 

    Profiles Freedom of Information/Sunshine awardees honored during the 1997 Pulliam Editorial Fellowship banquet. Includes Cynthia Jeffries, reporter for the `Delta Democrat Times' in Mississippi; Gary Cohn and Ginger Thompson of `The Baltimore Sun'; Brechner Center for Freedom of Information.

  • Mich. journalists honored.  // Editor & Publisher;03/29/97, Vol. 130 Issue 13, p12 

    Reveals the names of five journalists to be inducted in the 1997 Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame.

  • Columbia dubs the knights of media.  // MediaWeek;6/5/95, Vol. 5 Issue 23, p32 

    Lists the nine most influential media critics named in the May 1995 issue of the `Media Studies Journal,' a Columbia University publication. Includes Jonathan Alter of `Newsweek'; Ken Auletta of `The New Yorker'; Jeff Greenfield of ABC News.

  • Awards and more in St. Paul.  // Quill;Nov/Dec95, Vol. 83 Issue 9, p58 

    Presents information on awards given to members and nonmembers at the 1995 convention for the contributions they made to journalism.

  • Feature people receive awards.  // Editor & Publisher;03/14/98, Vol. 131 Issue 11, p49 

    Names several newspaper columnists who were honored by the National Press Foundation in 1998. Includes Carol Rowan and Bob Gorrell, recipient of the Distinguished Contributions to Journalism Award.


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics