Twain meets Tomlin

Harris, Paul
October 2003
Daily Variety;10/30/2003, Vol. 281 Issue 19, p51
Trade Publication
Focuses on actress Lily Tomlin's acceptance of the Kennedy Center's Mark Twain Prize for American Humor in October 2003. Presence of Tomlin's '9 to 5' co-stars Jane Fonda and Dolly Parton; Showing of vintage Tomlin routines from television shows and films; Tomlin's acceptance of the Twain prize from Kennedy Center chair James Johnson.


Related Articles

  • NEWLY UNEARTHED DOCUMENTS. Lowrey, Sassafras // Curve;Nov/Dec2014, Vol. 24 Issue 8, p14 

    The article offers news briefs of interest to the gay and lesbian community as of November 2014. Newly discovered documents showed that actress Marilyn Monroe had a relationship with her acting teacher Natasha Lytess. Lily Tomlin will be awarded the 2014 Kennedy Center Honors. Barb Webb of...

  • THE-EMMYS'-TKO. Peikert, Mark // Back Stage (1946-5440);9/19/2013, Vol. 54 Issue 38, p23 

    The article announces winners at the 2013 Creative Arts Emmys, which includes Laray Mayfield and Julie Schubert of "House of Cards" for outstanding casting directors, Bob Newhart for outstanding guest-star, comedy and Lily Tomlin for outstanding voiceover performance.

  • HEY GUYS! WATCH THIS! OLANDER, DOUG // Sport Fishing;Mar2014, Vol. 29 Issue 3, p8 

    The author discusses the Darwin Awards that honor individuals who have protected the Homo sapiens gene pool by removing themselves from it. He points out that an individual must meet several requirements to qualify for the Darwin Award such as clutching, grabbing or bear-hugging a large shark....

  • No 4206.  // New Statesman;12/19/2011, Vol. 140 Issue 5084/5085, p95 

    The article presents the winning entries for a reader humor lyric-writing contest for a fictitious musical called "Occupy: the Musical," including "Oh, What a Beautiful Protest," by Brian D. Allingham, "We Occupy, We Occupy," by Lisbeth Rake, and "Squatters' Song, " by Adrian Fry.

  • Edinburgh's Joke of the Year.  // British Heritage;Jan2016, Vol. 36 Issue 6, p5 

    The article announces that British comic Darren Walsh has won the Edinburgh, Scotland Fringe Festival's Joke of the Year.

  • Booklet wins prize.  // British Dental Journal;2/14/2004, Vol. 196 Issue 3, p129 

    Reports that David A. Houston has won a prize for his self-drawn cartoon booklet about dental care at the British Dental Trade Association's dental exhibition in Birmingham, England in 2004. Winning of the Cordent-Brian Lux Dental Humor Award.

  • THE FORECAST IS SUNSHINE. De Four, Mirissa // Caribbean Beat;2009, Issue 99, p40 

    The article offers information on the Sunshine Awards established by Gilman T. Figaro of Trinidad and Tobago in 1988. It discusses its history and development wherein Figaro renamed the event from Calypso and Steelband Music Sunshine Awards to Sunshine Awards. It states that the awards invite...

  • Richard Pryor Honored With First Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.  // Jet;11/09/98, Vol. 94 Issue 24, p16 

    Focuses on the award of the first Mark Twain Prize to Richard Pryor. Some of the celebrities that attended the ceremony; Pryor's poor health due to multiple sclerosis; Pryor's position as the first black comic to deal with the inner life of the black community; When the show will air on the...

  • The greeting card category.  // Saturday Evening Post;May/Jun2007, Vol. 279 Issue 3, p60 

    This article presents the winners of a humor contest in which readers were asked to submit their picks for funniest greeting cards and print advertisements. Favorite print ads included brand name products such as Gas-X, Bounce, and American Express Cards. Funny dogs were the focus of most of the...


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics