Modernism and Closure: Nielsen's Fifth Symphony

Grimley, Daniel M.
March 2002
Musical Quarterly;Spring2002, Vol. 86 Issue 1, p149
Academic Journal
Discusses the concepts of modernism and closure in the 'Fifth Symphony' composition by composer Carl Nielsen. Modernist aesthetic pointed by the fragmented and unpredictable character of the symphony; Analysis of pertinent topics and relevant issues; Implications on studies of music.


Related Articles

  • Clarinet Concerto/Clarinet & Viola Concerto/Levitation. HANUDEL // American Record Guide;Nov/Dec2012, Vol. 75 Issue 6, p170 

    The article reviews the clarinet music releases "Clarinet Concerto," featuring the works composed by Carl Nielsen, "Clarinet & Viola Concerto," featuring the compositions of Aulis Sallinen and "Levitation," featuring works composed by Peter Eotvos, all performed by the Finnish Radio Symphony...

  • Reviews: CDs. Porter, Tully // Strad;Dec96, Vol. 107 Issue 1280, p1345 

    Reviews the classical music recording of Carl Nielsen's `String Quartets in F minor op. 5 and G minor op. 13,' performed by the Vertavo Quartet. Quality of recording; Performance highlights.

  • Historic. R.L. // Gramophone;Feb96, Vol. 73 Issue 873, p112 

    Reviews a music recording featuring Carl Nielsen's `Concertos-Flute and Orchestra; Clarinet and Orchestra' and `Maskarade-Overture; Magdalone's dance scene; Prelude, Act 2; Dance of the cockerels,' performed by Holger Gilbert-Jespersen et al.

  • NEW MATERIALS. Nelson, Mark // ITEA Journal;Winter2015, Vol. 42 Issue 2, p20 

    A list of tuba music scores is presented including "Matros" by Kevin McKenzie, "Two Fantasy Pieces" by Carl Nielsen, and "Three More Furies" by James Grant.

  • Symphonies - No 2, 'The Four Temperaments'. Clark, Philip // Gramophone;May2013, Vol. 90 Issue 1096, p79 

    The article reviews a music recording featuring works composed by Carl Nielsen and performed by Lucy Hall, Marcus Farnsworth and the London Symphony Orchestra with conductor Sir Colin Davis, including "The Four Temperaments" and "Sinfonia espansiva."

  • Guide to records. McKelvey // American Record Guide;Jul/Aug93, Vol. 56 Issue 4, p131 

    Reviews the classical music recording `Aladdin,' composed by Carl Nielsen and performed by mezosoprano Mette Elsing, baritone Guido Paevatalu and the Danish Radio Orchestra and Choir under Gennady Rozhdestvensky's conducting. Author's previous acquaintance with the composition; History; Danish...

  • Guide to records. Haller // American Record Guide;Jul/Aug93, Vol. 56 Issue 4, p132 

    Reviews the classical music recording `Symphonies 4+6,' composed by Carl Nielsen and performed by the Gothenburg symphony under Neeme Jarvi's conducting. Jarvi's track record; Sweep and passion in the final movement; Lyricism of the secondary theme; Stentorian pronouncements of brass and...

  • Orchestral. R.L. // Gramophone;Sep96, Vol. 74 Issue 880, p56 

    Reviews the classical music composed by Carl Nielsen as performed by the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra conducted by Neemi Jarvi.

  • Langgaard · Nielsen. Rochester, Marc // Gramophone;2010 Awards Issue, Vol. 88 Issue 1063, p101 

    The article reviews an instrumental music release featuring works composed by Rued Langgaard and Carl Nielsen, and performed by Friedhelm Flamme.


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics