TITLE

The Back of the Book

AUTHOR(S)
Rosenblatt, Roger
PUB. DATE
July 1975
SOURCE
New Republic;7/26/75, Vol. 173 Issue 4, p32
SOURCE TYPE
Periodical
DOC. TYPE
Article
ABSTRACT
Profiles S. S. Van Dine, author of paperback mystery and detective novels, and the pen name of Willard Huntington Wright. Philo Vance as protagonist of Van Dine's novels; Author's observation that the most interesting thing about Vance was money; Vance as the most popular American detective of the depression; Unusual characteristics of Vance, such as wearing a kimono and sleeping till noon; Career background of Wright; Author's view that Van Dine's greatest feat with Vance is that the readers are not permitted to like him.
ACCESSION #
10241067

 

Related Articles

  • "I Used to Be a Highbrow but Look at Me Now": Phrenology, Detection, and Cultural Hierarchy in S. S. Van Dine. Hefner, Brooks E. // Clues: A Journal of Detection (McFarland & Company);Spring2012, Vol. 30 Issue 1, p30 

    This article reads Willard Huntington Wright's work against his anxieties about cultural hierarchy and value, utilizing archival work in Wright's papers at the University of Virginia and unearthing a previously unknown series of crime stories that he published under another pseudonym a decade...

  • Van Dine and His Public. Seldes, Gilbert // New Republic;6/19/29, Vol. 59 Issue 759, p125 

    Focuses on the life and works of author S. S. Van Dine. Success of Van Dine in giving a new life to detective fiction; Appearance of first of Van Dine's books serially in Scribner's Magazine; Concentration on the art of deduction.

  • The Evaporation of the Extraordinary Gentleman. Davis, J. Madison // World Literature Today;Nov/Dec2015, Vol. 89 Issue 6, p16 

    The article traces the history of the creation of the fictional American detective Philo Vance featured in several of S. S. Van Dine's mystery novels. Topics discussed include the characteristics of Vance that separate him from other fictional detective characters in literature, the books,...

  • Modern Painting (Book). Stein, Leo D. // New Republic;1/29/16, Vol. 5 Issue 65, p339 

    Reviews the book "Modern Painting," by Willard Huntington Wright.

  • Give Me the Sun. F.H. // New Republic;2/26/16, Vol. 6 Issue 69, p110 

    Reviews the book, "The Man of Promise," by Willard Huntington Wright.

  • To the Rescue of Art. H.S. // New Republic;4/28/17, Vol. 10 Issue 130, p382 

    Reviews the book "The Creative Will: Studies in the Philosophy and Syntax of Aesthetics," by Willard Huntington Wright.

  • Misinforming England. F.H. // New Republic;6/23/17, Vol. 11 Issue 138, p223 

    Reviews the book "Misinforming a Nation," by Willard Huntington Wright.

  • The Future of Painting (Book). Mumford, Lewis // New Republic;9/12/23, Vol. 36 Issue 458, p79 

    Reviews the book "The Future of Painting," by Willard Huntington Wright.

  • SUMMER BOOK ISSUE: Murder, Mystery and Private Eyes, The Sordid Truth. Winks, Robin // New Republic;7/26/75, Vol. 173 Issue 4, p21 

    Profiles Donald Hamilton, author of paperback mystery and detective novels. Matt Helm as Hamilton's series figure; Anthony Boucher's view that Hamilton is a master of indirect exposition and a writer in the tradition of Peter Cheyney's "Dark" series; Author's view that Hamilton's books are for...

Share

Read the Article

Courtesy of THE LIBRARY OF VIRGINIA

Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics