TITLE

Evil Plots

AUTHOR(S)
Grella, George
PUB. DATE
July 1975
SOURCE
New Republic;7/26/75, Vol. 173 Issue 4, p24
SOURCE TYPE
Periodical
DOC. TYPE
Article
ABSTRACT
Profiles Ross Macdonald, author of paperback mystery and detective novels. Author's view that Macdonald is the most distinguished living practitioner of "hard-boiled" detective fiction; Successor to Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler; Private eye Lew Archer as protagonist of Macdonald's stories; Complexity of Macdonald's plots; Novels with numerous overlapping and superimposed plots; Four important plots in the Archer books; Quest of the Archer; Search for the Past; Metamorphic Pattern; Mythic Plot.
ACCESSION #
10241063

 

Related Articles

  • THE BLUE HAMMER.  // New Yorker;6/28/1976, Vol. 52 Issue 19, p92 

    The article reviews the book "The Blue Hammer," by Ross Macdonald.

  • THE GOODBYE LOOK.  // New Yorker;6/28/1969, Vol. 45 Issue 19, p96 

    The article reviews the book "The Goodbye Look," by Ross Macdonald.

  • The Blue Hammer (Book Review). Veit, Henri C. // Library Journal;5/1/1976, Vol. 101 Issue 9, p1148 

    Reviews the book 'The Blue Hammer,' by Ross MacDonald.

  • The Moving Target (Book). Wright, David // Library Journal;5/15/2004 Supplement Audio/Video, Vol. 129, p17 

    Reviews the audiobook "The Moving Target," by Ross MacDonald.

  • Black Money.  // New Yorker;1/22/1966, Vol. 41 Issue 49, p112 

    The article reviews the book "Black Money," by Ross Macdonald.

  • THE FERGUSON AFFAIR.  // New Yorker;8/13/1960, Vol. 36 Issue 26, p107 

    The article reviews the book "The Ferguson Affair," by Ross Macdonald.

  • THE FAR SIDE OF THE DOLLAR.  // New Yorker;5/15/1965, Vol. 41 Issue 13, p220 

    The article reviews the book "The Far Side of the Dollar," by Ross Macdonald.

  • SUMMER BOOK ISSUE: Murder, Mystery and Private Eyes, The Sordid Truth. Winks, Robin // New Republic;7/26/75, Vol. 173 Issue 4, p21 

    Profiles Donald Hamilton, author of paperback mystery and detective novels. Matt Helm as Hamilton's series figure; Anthony Boucher's view that Hamilton is a master of indirect exposition and a writer in the tradition of Peter Cheyney's "Dark" series; Author's view that Hamilton's books are for...

  • Key Witness. Benjamin, David A. // New Republic;7/26/75, Vol. 173 Issue 4, p28 

    Profiles John D. MacDonald, author of paperback mystery and detective novels. Number of novels and magazine short stories written at the age of 46; Travis McGee as MacDonald's main protagonist; Elements of a hero in McGee, a rebel with many causes; Basic plot of a McGee adventure, which usually...

Share

Read the Article

Courtesy of THE LIBRARY OF VIRGINIA

Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics