TITLE

SUMMER BOOK ISSUE: Murder, Mystery and Private Eyes, The Sordid Truth

AUTHOR(S)
Winks, Robin
PUB. DATE
July 1975
SOURCE
New Republic;7/26/75, Vol. 173 Issue 4, p21
SOURCE TYPE
Periodical
DOC. TYPE
Article
ABSTRACT
Profiles Donald Hamilton, author of paperback mystery and detective novels. Matt Helm as Hamilton's series figure; Anthony Boucher's view that Hamilton is a master of indirect exposition and a writer in the tradition of Peter Cheyney's "Dark" series; Author's view that Hamilton's books are for summer reading; Observation that Hamilton combines his pleasures with his work; Author's view that Hamilton's best written book is "Assassins Have a Starry Eyes," which was originally published in 1956 as "Assignment: Murder".
ACCESSION #
10241062

 

Related Articles

  • Evil Plots. Grella, George // New Republic;7/26/75, Vol. 173 Issue 4, p24 

    Profiles Ross Macdonald, author of paperback mystery and detective novels. Author's view that Macdonald is the most distinguished living practitioner of "hard-boiled" detective fiction; Successor to Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler; Private eye Lew Archer as protagonist of Macdonald's...

  • Key Witness. Benjamin, David A. // New Republic;7/26/75, Vol. 173 Issue 4, p28 

    Profiles John D. MacDonald, author of paperback mystery and detective novels. Number of novels and magazine short stories written at the age of 46; Travis McGee as MacDonald's main protagonist; Elements of a hero in McGee, a rebel with many causes; Basic plot of a McGee adventure, which usually...

  • Murder She Says. Holquist, Michael // New Republic;7/26/75, Vol. 173 Issue 4, p26 

    Profiles Agatha Christie, author of paperback mystery and detective novels. Producer of many novels and countless short stories; Hercule Poirot, best known of the detectives, who was introduced in her first novel, "The Mysterious Affair at Styles"; List of books which define Agatha's real...

  • It's Chinatown. Starr, Kevin // New Republic;7/26/75, Vol. 173 Issue 4, p31 

    Profiles James M. Cain, author of paperback mystery and detective novels. Author's view that Cain is possessed of the most brutal, elemental and intrinsically pessimistic view of human events and possibilities; Introduction and perfection of the cinematic novel, the novel written as film rather...

  • Peril in Paperback: A Bibliophile Mystery.  // Publishers Weekly;6/18/2012, Vol. 259 Issue 25, p39 

    The article reviews the book "Peril in Paperback" by Kate Carlisle, part of the Bibliophile mystery book series.

  • The Back of the Book. Rosenblatt, Roger // New Republic;7/26/75, Vol. 173 Issue 4, p32 

    Profiles S. S. Van Dine, author of paperback mystery and detective novels, and the pen name of Willard Huntington Wright. Philo Vance as protagonist of Van Dine's novels; Author's observation that the most interesting thing about Vance was money; Vance as the most popular American detective of...

  • NEW MYSTERY REVIEWS. Cooper, Ilene // Booklist;05/01/2001, Vol. 97 Issue 17, p1624 

    Reviews the book `About the Author,' by John Colapinto.

  • Nora Roberts Leads Paperback Fiction Bestseller List.  // Book Publishing Report;12/15/2003, Vol. 28 Issue 48, p6 

    Reports that mystery author Nora Roberts, a.k.a. J.D. Robb, has enjoyed tremendous success on the "New York Times" fiction paperback list in 2003. Bestseller "Key of Knowledge"; Book agent Amy Berkower of New York-based Writers House LLC as representative for all of Roberts' titles.

  • Do Mass Market Originals Still Work? Reid, Calvin; Habash, Gabe // Publishers Weekly;9/3/2012, Vol. 259 Issue 36, p3 

    The article looks at the challenges of introducing new authors through the publishing of mass market original paperbacks. The competition presented by inexpensive electronic book editions is noted. Other topics include the genres of fiction most likely to succeed as mass market debuts, such as...

Share

Read the Article

Courtesy of THE LIBRARY OF VIRGINIA

Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics